Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th March 2012, 03:07
ByteMe Networking ByteMe Networking is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Virginia Beach VA.
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default Migrate ISPConfig 3 to new server

All,

I know this question has been asked many times on these forums, but I have yet to find a clear cut answer of how to migrate an entire production install of ISPConfig 3 to a new server.

I really need to move my current sites and setup to a new server as it has out grown itself. Working with about 10 client sites and I do not want any to know the migration has taken place. They will be informed but want it seamless.

Really my main goal is to know what I need to move? The current setup is on a Debian 5 box and is moving to a Debian 6 box.
Both boxes have been setup using The Perfect Server method of Bind and Courier.

If anyone has a list of what Data needs to be copied for the Bind and Courier setup, please fill me in. I've tried several times without success from many different post. One or more things fail after committing and I end up redoing the new box. I have migrated sites before server to server but this is too slow. I wish to rsync dir to dir and call it good. (other than DB backups and importing)

New server is going to be running vm so it is easily portable but getting everything over to the new instances is waring on me.

Any help or maybe a post I have overlooked with the full info/steps would be great.
Also, I am more than willing to donate for useful info to my question.

Thanks in advance to everyone for the read and assistance.

Hopeful webmaster,
Casey
__________________
Have hope.
Take care of your local Veterans and Community.
http://vbelks.org
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th March 2012, 03:34
kwickcut kwickcut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nj usa
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

how about setting up something like this

http://www.howtoforge.com/setting-up...n-debian-lenny

then once it is all set up you can kill the old server
__________________
Operating system Ubuntu Linux 10.04.4
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.4.3
Webmin version 1.580
Kernel and CPU Linux 2.6.32-40-server on x86_64
Processor information AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 4 cores
Real memory 4.0 GB total
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwickcut For This Useful Post:
ByteMe Networking (30th March 2012)
  #3  
Old 30th March 2012, 04:05
ByteMe Networking ByteMe Networking is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Virginia Beach VA.
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

kwickcut,

I like your thought process.

The plan this go round is to do something very similar to the link provided. Only this time I am thinking of building ever thing in a VM environment to scale the portability of it all from one server to the next if needed.

The setup in the link is similar to what we use at my real Job and cost more money than I am able to spend. I do a lot of non profit work during free time (LOL, whats that?) and obtaining new hardware or IPs is just not something that can be budgeted for. All could run in a VE but resources are limited and this method would make for a number of challenges that I am not ready to face. However I do plan on making and setting up a HAPE (High Availability Production Environment) when the time is right.

Please keep the ideas coming, I know with asking this question is much to ask but the community base at HowToForge is untouchable.

Thanks again,
Casey
__________________
Have hope.
Take care of your local Veterans and Community.
http://vbelks.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 12:04
ISPConfig 3 - CentOS 5.4 - SSL Problems!?! owainbaber Installation/Configuration 4 26th July 2011 17:12
Not working emails (DNS and postfix problem?) shekiman Installation/Configuration 9 1st March 2011 16:25
Hosting multiple websites and webmail dmwcool Installation/Configuration 8 30th March 2010 03:15
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.