Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th March 2012, 10:11
Ripeed Ripeed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 94
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Question How to move secondary DNS to new hardware?

Hi everyone, again I need help I Have solution by this tutorial.

It works fine, thanks to howtoforge.com.

Now I want to move the secondary server to another hardware. And question is how I can easily do it? It is something what I must avoid?

Thanks a lot for help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2012, 14:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

If you use a virtual machine, you can simply move the virtual machine to the new server.

Otherwise, you could create an image of your server (e.g. with CloneZilla) and install the image on the new system, or you take backups of all relevant data (ISPConfig database, BIND configuration, etc.) and restore it on the new system (which should ideally run the same distribution).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th March 2012, 14:31
Ripeed Ripeed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 94
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks falco... I think the easiest way will be for me do that image. But I have two answers:

1. If I put image to different HW? Linux is ok with that?

2. When I will creating image and putting back, if some problem with software raid? I have RAID 1. And will have..

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th March 2012, 13:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripeed View Post
Thanks falco... I think the easiest way will be for me do that image. But I have two answers:

1. If I put image to different HW? Linux is ok with that?
This should work, unless you have some hardware for which your image doesn't have drivers.

Make sure the new hard drives are at least the same size as the old drives.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 20:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers cstone Tips/Tricks/Mods 4 19th July 2006 15:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.