Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th March 2012, 19:26
Bossonline Bossonline is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ns1.example.com ns2.example.com how to make?

hello i have server and vps need nameservers, but cannot make it myself, if can please help.

IP Address 63.223.X.X
Gateway 63.223.X.X
Netmask 255.255.255.0
Nameserver 4.2.2.1
Nameserver 4.2.2.2

have this.

can i make ns1 adn ns2 ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th March 2012, 08:42
TiTex TiTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cluj-Napoca,Romania
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to TiTex
Default

you need to set up your NS-s (nameservers) in the control panel where you bought your domain.
you have a domain example.com from godaddy.com ... you have to login into your godaddy account look in the domain administration , create a nameserver ns1.example.com to point to your server's IP 63.233.x.x.
after this you can host your domain on your own linux box
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th March 2012, 14:37
Bossonline Bossonline is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default godaddy?

i have server vps, and 3 ips. 1 default and other 2 ips. need make to ns1.example.com ns2.example.com for my default ip where i have server.

Beginner needs help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th March 2012, 15:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Maybe we can break this down into small chunks. What is the first problem you have with DNS?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th March 2012, 18:02
Bossonline Bossonline is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Server

IP Address 63.223.114.238 Default Server CP ispcpOmega 1.0.7 Perfect 100% work.

IP Address
63.223.114.218
63.223.114.249

all ip have:

IP Address 63.223.114.218
Gateway 63.223.114.1
Netmask 255.255.255.0
Nameserver 4.2.2.1
Nameserver 4.2.2.2

IP Address 63.223.114.249
Gateway 63.223.114.1
Netmask 255.255.255.0
Nameserver 4.2.2.1
Nameserver 4.2.2.2

Server:
IP Address 63.223.114.238
Gateway 63.223.114.1
Netmask 255.255.255.0
Nameserver 4.2.2.1
Nameserver 4.2.2.2

Hostname domain . com
IP Address 63.223.114.238
Operating System debian-6.0-x86_64
IPv4 Address 3
IPv6 Address 0

can i make ns1.example.com ns2.example.com

Last edited by Bossonline; 17th March 2012 at 13:47.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th March 2012, 11:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossonline View Post
can i make ns1.example.com ns2.example.com
Of course, but where is the problem?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th March 2012, 13:47
Bossonline Bossonline is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default i am newbe

i cannot make it myself need good tutorial or help anybody



i have dns manager can i make nameservers for my hosting
?

Last edited by Bossonline; 17th March 2012 at 13:58.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th March 2012, 21:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Create A records for ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com that point to your own IPs.

If you want to host the DNS zone for a new domain on ns1 and ns2.example.com, create the zone on your nameservers, and when you register the domain, you specify ns1 and ns2.example.com as the nameservers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpan> install DB_File make error Nu2Linux HOWTO-Related Questions 6 13th April 2012 22:06
make rpm fails digen Kernel Questions 3 17th December 2006 21:28
clamav spamassassin with simscan @ debian Shamael Anwar Installation/Configuration 2 15th December 2006 20:06
install Net::DNS chrno Installation/Configuration 4 5th September 2006 17:01
FC3 Perfect Installation Make Errors solderboy HOWTO-Related Questions 3 2nd October 2005 16:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.