Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th March 2012, 13:52
cgorms cgorms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multiple Servers and IP Addresses

I followed the HowtoForge for "Multiserver Setup With Dedicated Web, Email, DNS & MySQL Database Servers On Debian Squeeze With ISPConfig 3" which is excellent.

I have a couple of websites I wish to host they have external IP Addresses for each I have setup the external address under the "Server IP Addressess" section allocated them to a website and setup DNS but when I test shutting down the main server the backup or second server doesn't have the external address.

Am I doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th March 2012, 13:59
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

The setup that you used above is for dedicated systems where each server hosts different services, so the setup you had choosen is not a mirror setup, it is a setup that splits email, web and dns to different servers.

A mirror setup is e.g. this one, http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...th-ispconfig-3 which allows you to access sites on both servers simultaniously without the need to switch any IP addresses. If you want to switch IP's between servers then take a look at e.g. keepalived or heartbet which can be used together with ispconfig 3.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 14th March 2012 at 14:03.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
cgorms (16th March 2012)
  #3  
Old 14th March 2012, 14:10
cgorms cgorms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Thanks for getting back to me so quick. My mistake the guide you suggested is the one I followed. But I am still having an issue accessing the website from both servers I must be doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th March 2012, 14:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

There are at least 2 options:

a) You switch the IP address with e.g. heartbeat or keepalived between the servers when one server fails.

or b) You select * instead of a IP address in the website settings. This means that the site is now available on both servers independant of the IP address. So you can use load balancers, round robin dns etc. with this option without the need to switch a IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
cgorms (16th March 2012)
  #5  
Old 14th March 2012, 14:34
cgorms cgorms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No sure if I explained myself very well. I have 1 master and 1 slave ISPConfig Servers I and trying to host a website. The website has an external IP Address allowing access over the Internet where do I assign this IP?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th March 2012, 14:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Your server is in a internal network with internal IP addresses (NAT)? In this case you dont assign the external IP on the server, the server uses a internal IP address and the assignment from the external Ip to the internal IP address is configured on your router.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
cgorms (16th March 2012)
  #7  
Old 14th March 2012, 14:57
cgorms cgorms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I understand what you are saying just to be more of a pain the issue I have is I don't manage my router it is a service I buy into which is complicated. My Site Domain names are setup with 123-reg if I change the name servers to point to my ISPconfig servers which have external IP addresses and set the sites IP's to * and configure DNS for the sites would this potentially work? Or is more complicated than that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th March 2012, 19:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgorms View Post
and set the sites IP's to *
You have to try the *. Specifying the IP should work under all circumstances.

Regarding DNS: this tutorial should het you on track: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...debian-squeeze
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.