Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th December 2011, 17:24
carpman carpman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default correct proceedure for setting up new domain?

Hi, been looking through the manually that purchased and am wondering what the correct procedure is for setting up new domain on a client?

I believe it is:

Add website
Add dns zone
Add email domain

Is this correct?


The bit that confuses me is the dns zone, here it has an IP field, i have been putting the main server/shared in there, but this would confuse a real client?


cheers

Last edited by carpman; 15th December 2011 at 17:27.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th December 2011, 17:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
Add website
Add dns zone
Add email domain

Is this correct?
yes.

Quote:
The bit that confuses me is the dns zone, here it has an IP field, i have been putting the main server/shared in there, but this would confuse a real client?
The dns setup is normally done by the isp (you) and not the client.In that case you would not enable the dns module for the client.

If you offer your clients direct dns management, theny they will know what to put in which field as the fields for dns records are basically the ame in every controlpanel and at every ISP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2011, 17:45
carpman carpman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok i see now, so i disable the dns module for clients and then when they add domain i have to manually create the dns zone?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th December 2011, 17:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpman View Post
Ok i see now, so i disable the dns module for clients and then when they add domain i have to manually create the dns zone?
Yes. The domain has to be registered by you anyway first before your customers can use it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th December 2011, 17:52
carpman carpman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Yes. The domain has to be registered by you anyway first before your customers can use it.
what do you mean by registered?

Do you at as in new domain register, if so what if they already have their domain?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th December 2011, 18:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

If a customer has already a domain, then you will either have to move the domain to the registrar you work with or if they stay with their old registrar, they might use the dns servers of that registrar as well and not your dns servers. And if both options dont apply, then you might create a dns record for them.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2011, 12:15
carpman carpman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
yes.



The dns setup is normally done by the isp (you) and not the client.In that case you would not enable the dns module for the client.
How do you disable dns module?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th December 2011, 09:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

Under System > Users you can modify your users and change their modules.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
carpman (18th December 2011)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Email Working ISPConfig3 Squirrelmail and Courier etc Ian Wilson Installation/Configuration 17 19th June 2013 22:58
Issues with Baruwa - The Perfect Spamsnake Ubuntu 10.10 neofire HOWTO-Related Questions 44 31st May 2011 15:09
Postfix not forwarding for some domains flappy Installation/Configuration 3 21st November 2010 17:57
Sending emails with custom FROM email address merisor Installation/Configuration 4 8th February 2010 16:27
Cannot send or receive mail farbrorc Installation/Configuration 6 24th January 2010 11:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.