Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th November 2011, 17:35
robsbots robsbots is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy APF Advanced Policy Firewall under vps probs

Hi all.

I'm hoping to pick somebody's brain. I am trying to install APF on a ubuntu karmic vps. I do not have access to the real server, just the vps.

I have :-
Code:
IFACE_IN="venet0"
IFACE_OUT="venet0"
set in the config file which I belive is correct BUT when I start the server it says
Code:
apf(31804): {glob} flushing & zeroing chain policies
apf(31804): {glob} firewall offline
apf(31839): {glob} activating firewall
apf(31879): {glob} determined (IFACE_IN) venet0 has address 127.0.0.1
apf(31879): {glob} determined (IFACE_OUT) venet0 has address 127.0.0.1
apf(31879): {glob} loading preroute.rules
.........
venet0 has address 127.0.0.1 ???

Should this not be my static public ip address for the server ?
APF continues to load and all looks good except I can now no longer access the website. I seem to be able to ssh to the server ok.
# ip addr gives
Code:
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: venet0: <BROADCAST,POINTOPOINT,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/void
    inet 127.0.0.1/32 scope host venet0
    inet my.stat.ic.ip/32 scope global venet0:0
I have also tried IFACE_IN="venet0:0" which reports
could not verify that interface venet0:0 is routed to a network, aborting.

Is it my IFACE settings or should I be looking at my rules ?

I still have the "DEVEL_MODE="1" safety net out and the web page pops up after the time out.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Rob

Last edited by robsbots; 19th November 2011 at 13:32.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th November 2011, 13:16
robsbots robsbots is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Prob sorted

It took a while but have now sorted out the problem. It was a typo in the config file.

Doh.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error in connecting to vpn server anoopprasad Installation/Configuration 5 16th June 2008 18:18
configuring IPTABLES firewall adityavpratap HOWTO-Related Questions 9 27th May 2006 21:42
Upgrade from 2.2.0 to 2.2.1 successful but SSL and IMAP stopped working teleriddler Installation/Configuration 8 29th April 2006 14:25
How to install APF (Advanced Policy Firewall) domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 8th March 2006 03:57
Updating firewall breaks VPS benbalbo Installation/Configuration 2 4th November 2005 06:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.