Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th October 2011, 00:21
jamesl22 jamesl22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Database issues on multiserver setup

Hi,

I have followed the multiserver setup tutorial for debain 6. All is working well except when I create a database it gets created on the webserver's mysql server rather than the dedicated mysql server. How do I fix this?

Thanks,

James
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th October 2011, 08:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Make sure that you selected the database server and not the webserver server in the mysql database details when you create a new database.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th October 2011, 13:20
jamesl22 jamesl22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I can select the mysql server as admin but there is not option to do so as a regular user? Even selecting it as admin creates it on the webserver.

Last edited by jamesl22; 27th October 2011 at 13:24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th October 2011, 13:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Quote:
I can select the mysql server as admin but there is not option to do so as a regular user?
The server for regular users is set by the admin in the client limits of that user.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th October 2011, 13:37
jamesl22 jamesl22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

DB server is already set to the actual database server. If I select allow remote access and input the ip of the webserver I can connect. Even though I commented out
Code:
#bindaddress 127.0.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th October 2011, 14:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Changing the value does not affect any existing database, the value in the client setting is the default for new databases.

1) Delete the Database.
2) Go to client settimngs, make sure that the correct database server is selecetd there and click on save. You have to save the clinet settings once even if the correct server shows up already, as if there is only one db server, then this one shows up of course in the list even of you have not selected it yet.
3) Create a new database as client.

Quote:
If I select allow remote access and input the ip of the webserver I can connect.
Thats required beside the above settings, even if it is not related to the original problem. To access a database from a specific IP, you have to allow access from this IP to the database if the database and web server are not the same server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 27th October 2011 at 14:38.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th October 2011, 23:38
jamesl22 jamesl22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Thats fixed it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig could be great but its riddled with issues. How to fix? yucktoufoo Installation/Configuration 18 21st February 2011 12:33
Chrome + Ubuntu + Flash player andor Desktop Operation 1 25th May 2010 16:59
How to setup postfix to access to the database with procedures voltron81 Server Operation 0 14th January 2010 14:58
mysql database setup thehax Installation/Configuration 2 3rd October 2008 16:42
ISP Config Setup Issues lunchbox Installation/Configuration 1 8th June 2007 08:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.