Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th September 2011, 13:19
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Master / Slave Server After The Fact

Ok,

Here is what I would like to do "after the fact". (After a great install and upgrade). I have two servers - separate units. The first server and second server are identical (except that the first server's mail system doesn't work). This is what I would like to do with server number two.

I have upgraded the php, mysql, mysql-server, and phpMyAdmin on both servers which has made a dramatic difference in the way they operate. (Mostly the mysql and mysql-server). The big picture, server one is hosting about 50 websites and doesn't break a sweat. The second server again is identical except for disk space. It is raid 5 (4 x 500 gb) , where the first server is raid 5 (6 x 80). My original thinking was that the smaller server's space would be gone in no time. WRONG! So, what I do know is that server two is going to have too many requests on one IP, so...

I plan to add one public IP to server one today, but I would like to take server two and create a slave server three with server two (since it has so much disk space). The purpose is that the slave server will only be mail relay (mail server).

The set-up is not like the Manual's 5 Debian server system. It is Fedora 14, where the server is the server for everything...mail, dns, etc. I don't mind having a slave server that can fully function as a complete webserver even though it won't, I just don't want to tear down a system that works so well. With respect to the ISPConfig control panel, I will be the only one accessing the slave server anyway (The new mail server).

So, bottom line, can I add this slave server after the fact? It seems as if I could, but I am not sure what all files to change. I would also like to allocate a specific amount of disk space for the third (slave) server.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th September 2011, 14:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

You can add new slave servers to an existing master at any time as long as these slaves are no mirror servers.

A slave server can be installed by using the perfect setup guide for the server system setup as well, when it comes to the ispconfig installation in the last step, choose expert mode and select that this server shall join a master server. before you do the ispconfig installation you should check that the hostnames of all servers involved in that clsuter are configured in the /etc/hosts files of all other servers and that you are able to login with the mysql root user from the new slave server into the mysql database of the master server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2011, 16:54
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

It seems that if I use the Perfect Server Set-up from the start, I will wipe out what I already have. I am not quite clear on this. If I start from the beginning, we're assuming that Linux is not even installed.

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2011, 17:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Sure, ispconfig has to be installed on a empty system or the instalation should at least start with a minimal setup. If your system is running already some other services and shall not be reinstalled, then you can not install ispconfig on it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th September 2011, 17:06
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Yes,
To clarify, this is a fully functioning webserver with ISPConfig 3 installed. It is fully productive...live. What I was getting at was could the slave server be added after the fact. After the original install.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th September 2011, 17:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

You can add a slave server to this server as I explained in #2. But you can not make this server to be the slave of another server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th September 2011, 17:46
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

This is what I want to do precisely. I want to add a slave server to the already operating master server. The current server serves everything. Mail, DNS, File, DB, etc. I want to add a slave server with its' own IP to this original server. I guess I am not understanding how to follow the steps from the beginning of The Perfect Server for Fedora 14, when these steps assume there is no Linux install at all. Hopefully I am making sense. I see now that you say I can add a slave to an operating Master, but I don't see how following the steps for The Perfect Server will get this done without starting the server all over. Hopefully this is clearer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
master server, mirror server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users+Postfix+Courier+CentOS problem telnet localhost 25 stinson HOWTO-Related Questions 11 5th February 2011 13:57
ISPConfig3 mail doesn't work Marr General 6 1st September 2010 09:32
amavis & ispconfig 3 yalex2000 Installation/Configuration 20 18th February 2010 17:02
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
The Perfect Setup - Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) some trouble daniel80 HOWTO-Related Questions 26 1st February 2008 16:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.