Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd August 2011, 17:20
kanour kanour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What is the logic behind FTP user, client prefix, and multiple domains

Hi.

Please, can someone explain me what is the logic with FTP users and client prefix?

Example:
One client = username = firmname
Multiple sites for this client= site1.com, site2.com, site3.com

All sites are completely separate however only one company/client owns them.

I do not understand how create FTP users to distinguish between the sites. For example I have same user name for both site1.com (george@site1.com) and site2.com (george@site2.com). I want to create FTP user for each, however the logic in ISPConfig will allow me to create only [CLIENTNAME]george. Understand that I do not want to create different username then email address prefix.

In addition, using [CLIENTNAME] is not the best idea as it has got nothing to do with site name. Using [CLIENTID] is hard to remember on the other hand.

Can you share what you use in such cases?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd August 2011, 21:35
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

You can remove the prefix in your ispconfig settings:

System -> Interface Config

On all our ISPConfig systems we use the clientid as prefix on everything (dbname, ftplogin, shell accounts etc .. ) everywhere you're working on the server you'll find those numbers and always reference to one client.

what if you get another client called george? Call it george2?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:15
Steveorevo Steveorevo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Domain ID

I personally used to like using the "[DOMAIN]." prefix on the older ISPConfig 2 (I know, you can't use for database names, actually ISPConfig 2 would correct for that).

I was hoping for [DOMAIN] support in ISPConfig 3 but I don't see it. Browsing through source I found [DOMAINID] but it doesn't seem to work. Its nicer to have clients remember their domain for a unique identifier for webdav and FTP, i.e.

mydomain.com.steve

vs

'c32steve' or worse 'stevesteve' as clientname is 99% likely to be what the client is going to use as login name as well!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
Default

Using the dommainame would break your setup as soon as the client changes the domain name of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:21
Steveorevo Steveorevo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Prefix needed for webdav

Then again, do we even need to have a prefix for webdav? Doesn't this internally normalize to a virtualhost block that already is unique to the domain name and therefore shouldn't cause a conflict anyways? I know a unique ID is needed for FTP, but webdav?

Anyone know if its unique (enough) to remove webdav prefix?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
Default

As Mark_NL pointed out, the prefixes are configurable in System -> Interface Config.

For webdav will work without prefix, but most providers prefer consistent username schemes, so they use the same prefix for all services.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Steveorevo (9th August 2011)
  #7  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:27
Steveorevo Steveorevo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Curious prefix

Changing the domain name is totally destructive anyways. In fact, ISPConfig 3 won't let a user change a domain name once it is created. I get the message "contact your administrator to change your domain name". Does ISPConfig offer an interface and functionality to rename a domain? Does it go through and change the folder name on the server (that'd be pretty amazing). None the less, its very unlikely that a user would change there domain name without it affecting their source files (i.e. WordPress, Drupal). Because such sites serialize data to MySQL its not like a search/replace (byte offsets would break the database with a new domain name shorter/longer characters then the original).

Most likely the client would just create a new site and migrate files. That and a domain name change usually solicits a real world company acquisition, or at least a site redesign (cha' ching!).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
Default

Quote:
Changing the domain name is totally destructive anyways.
Not at all. ISPConfig implements the website structure in a way that you can change the domain name without breaking anything.

Quote:
In fact, ISPConfig 3 won't let a user change a domain name once it is created.
Thats not correct. You mix up here the website settings protection with changing the domain name. The administrator can change the domain name at any time.

Also the paths dont change as the domain name is not used in the website path, so you can do a domain name change this with almost all most cms systems. Just id it yesterday with a joomla install and a wordpress system.

Quote:
Most likely the client would just create a new site and migrate files. That and a domain name change usually solicits a real world company acquisition, or at least a site redesign (cha' ching!).
I work with a lot of webdesign companys for more then 10 years and they regularíly change domain names during development process of a site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th August 2011, 07:52
Steveorevo Steveorevo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I guess it depends on your clients. As a designer > 10 years my clients would die if they changed their domain name or lost their SEO rankings. Color.com didn't spend millions for nuthin' ;-)

But companies do get bought and sold left and right so I see your point. Nice that ISPConfig covers this. Unfortunately, although WebDAV is something I prefer because of speed and routers being optimized for HTTP protocols, it doesn't look like I can use it in ISPConfig 3 because everything is a child of webdav (i.e. no site root access). Just as well as I see it to writes under www-data. I'll try SFTP, that's probably just as fast and more secure?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th August 2011, 08:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
I guess it depends on your clients. As a designer > 10 years my clients would die if they changed their domain name or lost their SEO rankings. Color.com didn't spend millions for nuthin' ;-)
I've not talked about already published sites, so seo does not matter

Quote:
I'll try SFTP, that's probably just as fast and more secure?
I recommend that you use ftps (ftp with tls encryption). Its fast and secure.

Webdav wont work for this as webdav in apache can not switch the user to a user that is not www-data.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPCONFIG3 + No Email Service!!! AntennaMike Installation/Configuration 4 13th February 2013 11:24
Not working emails (DNS and postfix problem?) shekiman Installation/Configuration 9 1st March 2011 16:25
DNS and E-mail setup, multiple domains help! mnewbegin Installation/Configuration 6 16th November 2007 04:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.