Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd July 2011, 11:57
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 438
Thanks: 34
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
Thumbs up Thoughts about moving sites between servers

Hi, all.

It's that time again, the time I find my self working around the clock (on weekend) moving sites away from bad hardware to new hardware. (Server that all ready has a working ISPC3 cluster.)

It struck me (again) how long this current ISPC3 configuration takes to move. Primarily the reason for this is that the Databases and sites have cNumber prefix. This prevents me from simply copying them all from the old server to the new server. (That would take only a couple of minutes instead of hours that it takes now.)

I understand the reason to have a prefix that defines the Database and the site uniquely.

Couldn't that prefix be a date though?
I would give my left arm for that now.

Then I could move all the sites with just a few commands.

COMMAND "Hear my rant and obey!"
__________________

Sami Mattila
Internet-Content

Telephone:
00358942833310
Email: firstname.lastname@internet-content.org
Shop: http://shop.internet-content.net
Site: http://www.internet-content.net
Blog: http://www.internet-content.net/en/blog
FB: https://www.facebook.com/internetcontent

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th July 2011, 16:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
Default

You can use several kinds of prefixes for users beside the client ID, e.g. the username or you add a static prefix which is unique for the server like s1c[clientid] and then s2c[clientid] for the next server etc.

Another option is to use the multiserver capabilities from ispconfig to connect all servers to the same controlpanel, in that case, the client_id's are unique for all servers.

A prefix like a date wont work well, as ispconfig would not be able to "hide" it in the username edit field as it would be different every time when a record gets added or modified.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th July 2011, 19:24
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 438
Thanks: 34
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
Default Lazy admin's ramblins

I have built our first ISPConfig cluster.
As usual I over did it.
There is currently 12 nodes in the cluster.

I like Proxmox approach to clusters.
There ISPConfig VM's automatically get noticed by the system as a virtual machines simply by existing.

Configuration file -> /etc/vz/conf/101.conf
Virtual Machine -> /var/lib/vz/private/101/

If those exist, then the system will include virtual ISPConfig3 node id:101 in the list of virtual machines. etc. That is so simple and so good.

I wonder if that would work with the websites?
Imagine if you could just dump a thousand sites in the /var/www folder and they would be detected by ISPConfig automatically.
Yoohooo.
__________________

Sami Mattila
Internet-Content

Telephone:
00358942833310
Email: firstname.lastname@internet-content.org
Shop: http://shop.internet-content.net
Site: http://www.internet-content.net
Blog: http://www.internet-content.net/en/blog
FB: https://www.facebook.com/internetcontent


Last edited by SamTzu; 26th July 2011 at 19:28.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th July 2011, 21:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
Default

This wont work for websites, as the apache configuration file syntax incl. rewrite rules and other options is much more complex then the one of openvz (which uses just a simple ini file with about a dozen options). Also you would need details about the clients, client addresses, mysql databases, access to databases, ftp users, ssh users etc. that are all connected to a website to recreate it on a different server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th July 2011, 21:28
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 438
Thanks: 34
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
Default

Yup. It all starts simple and then it bloats like Microsoft.
__________________

Sami Mattila
Internet-Content

Telephone:
00358942833310
Email: firstname.lastname@internet-content.org
Shop: http://shop.internet-content.net
Site: http://www.internet-content.net
Blog: http://www.internet-content.net/en/blog
FB: https://www.facebook.com/internetcontent

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th January 2012, 16:19
zbuzanic zbuzanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 79
Thanks: 43
Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hm, I've moved one site from one to another server:
- ziped web and unziped on second + applied chown
- created database / ftp

Everything works fine with that site, except alias domain to that site is not working properly. It just shows the default webpage (It works..)

Any ideas or suggestions?
__________________
ISPConfig -> the best open source control panel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th January 2012, 03:25
zbuzanic zbuzanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 79
Thanks: 43
Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
 
Default

Well, it was just matter of time... it's working now, probably propagation or whatever
__________________
ISPConfig -> the best open source control panel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
migrane, rant

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IMAP question - Moving servers and mail. Brenton Installation/Configuration 11 14th May 2010 15:38
Moving sites from server A to B verhoem Installation/Configuration 4 3rd December 2009 09:54
DNS data from Standalone servers to Primary DNS server SamTzu Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 15th November 2009 14:38
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 20:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.