Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th June 2011, 13:50
asn asn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Create DNS Record for Godaddy Domain

I am new on ISPConfig 3. I installed ISPConfig 3 on Debian system which is on Static IP.

How to create DNS Record for Domain which is register on Godaddy & how to create NS1 and NS2 on Godaddy which I used in ISPConfig 3 DNS Record.

I read the thread seems to be out of date.
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

Please help me.

ANS
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th June 2011, 15:31
pititis pititis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mnchen
Posts: 364
Thanks: 38
Thanked 86 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Hi,

It's easy. If you have 1 single ip address for your name servers you can disable the dns service in ispconfig and use the godaddy dns.

Example:

- In the A(host) TAB add

server xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (here your server ip address)
mail xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (here your mail server ip address)

- In the cname(alias) TAB add

www @
ftp @
...

- In the MX (Mail Exchanger) TAB

10 @ mail.yourdomain.com


That's all. You can add more alias if you want and A records for others servers in your domains.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2011, 11:03
asn asn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Creae DNS Record

Thanks pititis

How to disable DNS service, It means I can't create DNS record in ISPConfig 3.

My ISPConfig 3 is install in my home with static ip and the IP is like 212.xxx.xxx.41.

The Example which you given is used in IspConfig3 or Godaddy Domain account?

Because, I am new in website configuration can you please provide me detailed example.

ANS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2011, 11:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
How to disable DNS service, It means I can't create DNS record in ISPConfig 3.
No need to deactivate the dns service. Just dont create a dns record in ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is already a dns record for the zone kieron General 1 10th October 2010 19:40
Creating a new site for an exisiting DNS domain pjdevries Installation/Configuration 6 6th June 2007 20:21
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 10:19
Unsure of DNS, hosts, and domain name plethera21 Installation/Configuration 1 4th September 2006 11:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.