Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th June 2011, 19:45
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default Apache2 parking alias to vhosts

I tried to add a file in /etc/apache2/conf/parking.mydomain.com.ar.conf

content:

Alias /parkingmydomain /var/www/clients/client1/web1

But I get an access denied...

i want to make a "parking" alias, so, when I have a new client and domain is NOT yet pointing to my dns, the user can see how his site will work (using www.myenterprisename.com.ar/parkingclient1

How can I do it to work? www.myenterprisename.com.ar is using fastcgi with suexec.

Regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th June 2011, 12:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Such a alias will not work as every website runs under ist own Linux user, thats why we did not implement it in ISPConfig. If you want your client to be able to access a site before the domain is registered, you can either add a subdomain to this website of a already registered domain or your client can set his domain in hosts hosts file:

http://www.faqforge.com/linux/contro...-a-dns-record/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th June 2011, 17:07
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Right now, I can't make every client change his hosts file (it is not the best solution...).

How can I use subdomains for this?

my current active and fully working website: www.tecatest.com.ar

client site: www.alte.com.ar (no yet registered in nic.ar)

Path to client site: /var/www/alte.com.ar/
where www and alte.com.ar are symlinks.

Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th June 2011, 09:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Add a wildcard dns record for tecatest.com.ar that points to your server. Then add a aliasdomain alte.tecatest.com.ar to the website alte.com.ar and your customer can access his website with alte.tecatest.com.ar
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
erosbk (9th June 2011)
  #5  
Old 9th June 2011, 16:42
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
 
Default

It works, thanks till!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.1.4 causes Apache to have too many open files gkovacs Installation/Configuration 29 27th February 2013 08:59
Whole server went down wxman General 25 28th September 2012 18:32
yet another apache2 tuning thread Ovidiu Server Operation 65 5th July 2011 15:07
post fix error after a year aberrio Server Operation 5 5th May 2009 21:33
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 6 28th October 2007 16:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.