Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th January 2011, 20:51
GoremanX GoremanX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Subdomain Displays Root Domain

Running ISPConfig 3.0.3.2 on Ubuntu 10.04 with all the latest OS updates.

I created a website (mainsite.com) with auto-subdomain set to *
This works fine and can be accessed through any means (www.mainsite.com, test.mainsite.com, mainsite.com, etc)

I created a website (dev.mainsite.com) with auto-subdomain set to "none". Now when I type dev.mainsite.com in my browser, this second site is displayed, as expected.

I created a website (j16.mainsite.com) configured exactly the same way as dev.mainsite.com. Now when I type j16.mainsite.com in my browser, I get the root website (mainsite.com) instead of the one that should be at j16.mainsite.com.

If I change the auto-subdomain for mainsite.com to "www." or "none", both j16.mainsite.com and dev.mainsite.com function as expected.

If I set the auto-subdomain for mainsite.com to *, then dev.mainsite.com functions as expected but j16.mainsite.com does not.

Is this normal or a bug? If it's normal, can someone explain why it's happening?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th January 2011, 14:24
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoremanX View Post
If I set the auto-subdomain for mainsite.com to *, then dev.mainsite.com functions as expected but j16.mainsite.com does not.
Can you post the mainsite.com, dev.mainsite.com, and j16.mainsite.com vhost configurations?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th January 2011, 19:55
GoremanX GoremanX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure:
http://dev.friendlyphotozone.com/upl...zone.com.vhost
http://dev.friendlyphotozone.com/upl...zone.com.vhost
http://dev.friendlyphotozone.com/upl...zone.com.vhost

There's really nothing special there. Just standard vhost configurations as per ISPConfig3 with a bunch of features enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2011, 12:13
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

This is normal for apache webservers as the * wildcard catches all subdomains, so you will never see a different website for a subdomain if you use a * wildcard in a site that is listed before the subdomain site. The wildcard can only be used if no subdomains fr that domain exist as separate websites.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th January 2011, 20:52
GoremanX GoremanX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But that's not how it behaved. the dev subdomain did load up the website at that subdomain, even when the main auto-subdomain was set to *.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th January 2011, 22:12
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You can not use * when you have more then one subdomain for a website. Please go trough all subdomains and sites that use the same main domain and make sure that none of them has * selected as auto subdomain. The alternative is that you set * for one website and delete all other subdomains, but I guess thats not what you want.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th April 2011, 21:46
1ng0 1ng0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi, I'm reviving this thread because I ran into a similar or the same problem recently.

Is it possible that evaluation of subdomains depends on the alphanumerical order in the 'sites-enabled' directory of apache? Does the order play a role in which the vhost files are concatenated or parsed?

This seems not directly valid for the above problem (because d and j are before m). But the effect I observed is this:

On a site with 2nd-lvl domain starting with letter w, auto-subdomain is set to *. Additionally, there exist multiple sites on different subdomains (<3rd-lvl>.w___.<tld>) All of them work as desired.

Now, I created a site with a 2nd-lvl domain starting with letter i and auto-subdomain set to *. In this case, additional sites with 3rd-lvl domain names based on the i domain do not work if they start with a letter greater than i Those 3rd-lvl subdomains starting with a letter lower than i do work (tested).

If my assumption is correct, this is a problem with apache and not ispconfig. How does ispconfig en/disable a site for apache, does it use the 'a2ensite' commands?

Using ispconfig 3.0.3.3 and apache 2.2.14
Perhaps, this is relevant:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/vho...l#observations

Thanks and kind regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache log issues abubin General 13 1st August 2010 18:47
Problem installing suPHP sojic Installation/Configuration 4 31st May 2010 16:24
SASL errors during mail use from a client wiseguy Installation/Configuration 3 27th April 2010 17:52
Server Side Includes don't work PermaNoob General 7 1st May 2007 21:38
index.html make eror planet_fox Installation/Configuration 46 28th March 2007 10:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.