#1  
Old 8th May 2006, 11:54
kong121s kong121s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ping problem !!

my situation is
- I can ping full name (www.test.com) from outside server but I can't ping test.com
- I can ping both www.test.com and test.com inside my server.(use Putty)
- I can't ping mail.test.com !! but I can send mail and received mail as well.

may be coz' I changed IP address of my server and didn't fix some file.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th May 2006, 12:11
kong121s kong121s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I forget question. (-.-")

My question is How to fix this problem? Which file I should fix?

I config new IP by use ISPconfig > management > server > setting
and config some files:
/etc/hosts
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
/etc/sysconfig/network
/etc/resolv.conf
DNS of all website, I removed it and recreated for each website.

I try to find the solution in this forum but not found.

Help me please. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th May 2006, 00:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Did you have a look here? http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th May 2006, 05:34
kong121s kong121s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I have already read that thread before I made this thread.

After I setting IP in Management > server > setting
I look for some files which contain IP Address.
some file must made a change by myself and some files are changed by ISPconfig.

ps.I use Fedora core 5 with ISPconfig 2.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th May 2006, 17:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Did you change the DNS records for test.com and mail.test.com so that they point to your new IP?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2006, 20:53
kong121s kong121s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes. I deleted all dns in DNS manager and then empty recycle bin.
and recreated dns in ISP Manager.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th May 2006, 22:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Can you post your real domain here?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th May 2006, 04:26
kong121s kong121s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank for your help, falko

but I can ping test.com now!
may be ISP doesn't fully update.
I think that coz' I did't change anything at last night
but it work at this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th May 2006, 07:28
Rustin Rustin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by kong121s
thank for your help, falko

but I can ping test.com now!
may be ISP doesn't fully update.
I think that coz' I did't change anything at last night
but it work at this morning.
Most ISP's DNS resolvers will cache DNS answers for 4 hours (on average) to save them work. Windows does this too, except it remembers entries for 24 hours (by default) and even caches failed DNS answers for five minutes.
It's almost essential to have a local non-caching (or the ability to clear the cache) DNS resolver when running a DNS server. Otherwise you can use (at the windows command prompt)
Code:
 
nslookup <name to lookup> <ip of dns server to use>
to see if it's your ISP's DNS server or your DNS server.
Also you can flush windows cache with
Code:
ipconfig /flushdns
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 14:15
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
Unable to connect (iptables problem?) Samatttv Installation/Configuration 3 27th April 2006 22:03
subdomain problem drakos Installation/Configuration 3 25th February 2006 10:24
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 01:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.