Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 17th March 2011, 15:46
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

38.99.159.169 and 170 is on my own DNS server also forwarded by provider ns servers.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 17th March 2011, 18:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjerboa View Post
But i got an error to start name service.
What's the error message?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
bigjerboa (17th March 2011)
  #13  
Old 17th March 2011, 18:42
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ok Falko,
I changed the path to /var/named/chroot/etc/named.conf.local through ispconfig from System > Server Config > DNS tab > BIND name.config.local path and restarted name service. Now it workds and there is no error. but still site is not coming up by name!

Last edited by bigjerboa; 17th March 2011 at 19:52.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th March 2011, 18:47
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here is name.config

//
// named.conf
//
// Provided by Red Hat bind package to configure the ISC BIND named(8) DNS
// server as a caching only nameserver (as a localhost DNS resolver only).
//
// See /usr/share/doc/bind*/sample/ for example named configuration files.
//
options {
listen-on port 53 { 127.0.0.1; };
listen-on-v6 port 53 { ::1; };
directory "/var/named/chroot/var/named";
dump-file "/var/named/chroot/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
statistics-file "/var/named/chroot/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
memstatistics-file "/var/named/chroot/var/named/data/named_mem_stats.txt";
allow-query { localhost; };
recursion yes;
};
logging {
channel default_debug {
file "data/named.run";
severity dynamic;
};
};
zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.root";
};
include "/var/named/chroot/etc/named.conf.local";


and this is named.conf.local

zone "wnof.com" {
type master;
allow-transfer {38.99.159.169;38.99.159.170;};
file "/var/named/chroot/var/named//pri.wnof.com";
};
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th March 2011, 14:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What's in /var/named/chroot/var/named//pri.wnof.com?
Can you resolve your domains locally?
Code:
dig @localhost yourdomain.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
bigjerboa (18th March 2011)
  #16  
Old 18th March 2011, 15:00
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

dig out put is here:

; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_5.3 <<>> @localhost wnof.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 52398
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;wnof.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
wnof.com. 86400 IN A 38.99.159.173

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
wnof.com. 86400 IN NS ns11.grfe.net.
wnof.com. 86400 IN NS ns12.grfe.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns12.grfe.net. 5610 IN A 38.99.159.170

;; Query time: 0 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Mar 18 09:56:11 2011
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 104

and it is the same content in /var/named/chroot/var/named//pri.wnof.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18th March 2011, 19:20
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I also receive error when restarting httpd:
...
[warn] NameVirtualHost 38.99.159.173:443 has no VirtualHosts
[warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18th March 2011, 20:19
bigjerboa bigjerboa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

It seems I have to turn back to ispconfig 2 ... !!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th March 2011, 18:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjerboa View Post
dig out put is here:

; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_5.3 <<>> @localhost wnof.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 52398
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;wnof.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
wnof.com. 86400 IN A 38.99.159.173

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
wnof.com. 86400 IN NS ns11.grfe.net.
wnof.com. 86400 IN NS ns12.grfe.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns12.grfe.net. 5610 IN A 38.99.159.170

;; Query time: 0 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Mar 18 09:56:11 2011
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 104

and it is the same content in /var/named/chroot/var/named//pri.wnof.com
So BIND is working.

According to http://www.intodns.com/wnof.com , you didn't create any NS records for the domain. (Please post the zone file so that I can verify this.)

Quote:
I also receive error when restarting httpd:
...
[warn] NameVirtualHost 38.99.159.173:443 has no VirtualHosts
[warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
...
These are just warnings. Does Apache work?

There's no reason to go back to ISPConfg 2!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
bigjerboa (21st March 2011)
  #20  
Old 19th March 2011, 21:46
stephan1024 stephan1024 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Had similar problems mine related to the following post.
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=46741
Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stephan1024 For This Useful Post:
bigjerboa (21st March 2011)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vhosts are not working (serving the same site) baskin General 3 12th June 2009 20:38
HELP: Enabled SSL on Site, Broke site astewart Developers' Forum 7 2nd April 2009 23:34
Site Skeletons rbartz Feature Requests 11 29th November 2008 16:07
proftpd virtual host not working DaddyFix Installation/Configuration 6 19th April 2006 19:59
Site not working (dns problem?) gadgetitus Installation/Configuration 2 19th March 2006 02:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.