Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th May 2006, 21:17
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default ColdFusion related quetsions

Hello

i've got 2 questions about cfmx 7
first one is:
i just don't get it to work cfmx with virtual hosts with apache.
i've followed the steps of the officiel cfmx guid but i can't get it to work.
it always search for the file in the [cfmx_root]/wwwroot/ and not in /var/server/www/[virtual_host/

second 1 is there a db conecter for cfmx for mysql 5?
i can't find it on google but maybe soms tweaking on conector for 4?

greets kevin valk
colddot
coldfusion
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th May 2006, 04:14
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdDoT
Hello

i've got 2 questions about cfmx 7
first one is:
i just don't get it to work cfmx with virtual hosts with apache.
i've followed the steps of the officiel cfmx guid but i can't get it to work.
it always search for the file in the [cfmx_root]/wwwroot/ and not in /var/server/www/[virtual_host/

second 1 is there a db conecter for cfmx for mysql 5?
i can't find it on google but maybe soms tweaking on conector for 4?

greets kevin valk
colddot
coldfusion
I've got Coldfusion MX7 running fine on my Fedora RC4 system with MySQL 4
For your 1st question. Make SURE that you install Coldfusion MX7 (not MX7.1 as it's missing some things)

For the MySQL question have a look here: http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/knowled...cfm?id=6ef0253

I'm in the US at the moment, and my notes on how I did the install of Coldfusion MX7 are on my home PC.
My home PC will go online later today, so if I have time, and if I can access it from this 'slow' connection , I will try to grab the info from it for you.

Last edited by edge; 6th May 2006 at 04:20.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2006, 12:37
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

Thanks

i've installed coldfusion-70-lin.bin(or something like that) but i'm sure that it was 7 not 7.1

thanks for your effort
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th May 2006, 12:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you have a look here? http://www.howtoforge.com/coldfusion...n_debian_sarge
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th May 2006, 20:29
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

Falko
yes i have taken a look at it. but there is nothing about apache virtual servers is it.

the mysql connecter runs good now thx.
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2006, 16:12
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

Pleaz i need this info for the virtual apache servers realy bad.
....................................*BUMP*........ ...........................
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th May 2006, 17:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I've never worked with ColdFusion before, so I'm not much of a help here...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th May 2006, 20:06
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdDoT
Pleaz i need this info for the virtual apache servers realy bad.
....................................*BUMP*........ ...........................
Ok.. I got access to my home PC, and here are the notes that I made some time ago on how I did the install (of MX6, and MX7) on my server.
I'm using ISPconfig with Apache (and virtual apache servers) and Coldfusion MX7. ISPconfig is not needed to use Coldfusion with Apache.

The notes are NOT for Fedora, but I did use them to install Coldfusion on my Fedora RC4 server.
You might need to verify the Apache configuration directory, the Apache binary file directory, and the control file to start and stop Apache

Quote:
How to install Coldfusion MX 6.1.0

For Coldfusion to work You WILL also need to install:
xorg-x11
libXp.so.6 (if you get the The Graphing service is not available. error)

1) Download the 30 day demo from here:
http://download.macromedia.com/pub/c...macr-linux.bin

2) Once downloaded, chmod +x coldfusion-61-lin.bin
3) Install it with: ./coldfusion-61-lin.bin

(note. Disable you firewall when you install Coldfusion!)

At Choose Locale... select 1 for English
Press enter to continue
...
...

At the 'Do you accept the terms.." select Y
Ignore the errors/warnings about the C++ compatibility pack..
Press enter to continue

At 'Is there already a version of Macromedia MX installed on this computer' select No
At 'Install Type' select 2 for the '30-day trial version' (in my case I select 1 as I have a licensed version)
(if you selected 1, you will need to enter the serial number)

At 'What kind of installation do you want?' you select '1' for the Server configuration.

Leave the 'Absolute path' as is.. press enter to accept
At 'is there a version of coldfusion 4.5 or 5..' select n

At 'Configure web server' make sure you select 1
At 'Choice: 1' select 1 for Apache
The Apache configuration directory is: /etc/httpd/conf
The Apache binary file directory is: /usr/sbin/httpd
The control file to start and stop Apache dir is: /usr/sbin/apachectl

Select option 4 to continue with installation
You can leave the 'web root for Macromedia Coldfusion MX' as is (/var/www/html)

At 'Runtime User' you will need to enter a user name. I have created a user named coldfusion, and used that. I think you can also use 'root' as Runtime User.
At 'Would you like Coldfusion MX to start at system boot' select Yes

Now you need to set a password to control access to the coldfusion MX administration.

You will now see an 'Installation Confirmation'. Press enter to continue
With a bit of luck, Coldfusion should now install, and setup Apache to work with it.

Once installation is done, you will get a 'Installation Complete'... 'You have successfully completed the first step...' message
Press enter to exit the installer

You now need to start 'coldfusion' for the 1st time.
type: /opt/coldfusionmx/bin/coldfusion start

The coldfusion MX connector wizard, will now create the Apache connector. (the Apache connector is needed to make Apache work with Coldfusion)
After some time you should get a: 'Connector installation succeeded for apache' followed by a 'ColdFusion MX has been started' message

Now you will need to setup some things with the control access to the coldfusion MX administration.
Start you web browser and go to 'http://you_server_ip/CFIDE/administrator' and login
I'm using RDS, so I did not disable it... Enter a password if you need RDS. Click on next.
For me there was no need to install the examples, as they do not work outside my local lan (my server is in a data center). Click on next.
After this setup is completed, and Coldfusion is up and running.

All you need to do now is cleanup (delete) the 'coldfusion-61-lin.bin' file, as there is no need for it anymore.
Also. Do not forget to enable the firewall again.
Let me know if something is not clear!

Last edited by edge; 9th May 2006 at 20:34.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th May 2006, 08:38
ColdDoT ColdDoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherland
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ColdDoT
Default

mmmm thanks for your effort but the cfmx works great by me without your help. that wasn't the problem.
the problem was that:
Example
virtual-server1 document root:/var/server/www/v1.colddot.nl
virtual-server2 document root:/var/server/www/v2.colddot.nl
coldfusion document root:/var/server/coldfusion/wwwroot

now i upload info.cfm to virtual-server1 so it coms in
/var/server/www/v1.colddot.nl and it is realy there
/var/server/www/v1.colddot.nl/info.cfm

so i go to the url
v1.colddot.nl/info.cfm
then i got a 404 from my coldfusion server because he can't find the file. thats because he only look in the
/var/server/coldfusion/wwwroot
so i tought then i upload it to
/var/server/coldfusion/wwwroot/info.cfm

and gues what when i go then to
v1.colddot.nl/info.cfm
i get the page. and i can even delete /var/server/www/v1.colddot.nl/info.cfm
and it stil works.
(this is by every virtual server)

is the problem clear but thanks a lot for your effot
(i'm sorry that i wasn't clear my earlyer posts)

greets
__________________
2B or not 2B (a pro)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th May 2006, 01:54
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
 
Default

I'm not sure why it's not working for you.. All I can say is that the way I've done my install all is working fine in any virtual directory that I've got any index.cfm in.

Groetjes, en veel succes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install Coldfusion on Ubuntu lad Installation/Configuration 9 27th August 2006 10:43
Anything Security Related sbovisjb1 Forum Suggestions 2 6th April 2006 17:55
Installation Coldfusion error misterm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 20:06
2 Questions (1 SSL Related and 1 dns forward related) phamels Installation/Configuration 11 4th January 2006 02:33
mail / spam / related Ovidiu Server Operation 1 6th December 2005 18:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.