#11  
Old 10th January 2011, 21:28
gachnar gachnar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

disabled postfix.
set debug mode in /opt/MailScanner/etc/MailScanner.conf

ran command: check_mailscanner

will post results when I get them.

UPDATE:

http://pastebin.com/RqvxQ45c

I let the command sit for 10 minutes at the last line before I stopped it.

UPDATE 2:

The VM has 512MB of RAM. That should be more than enough unless I am processing a high amount of mail flow.

UPDATE 3:

Similar to another forum I can't quite remember which one. I also don't show an active MTA in baruwa. It shows me having no processes.

Last edited by gachnar; 10th January 2011 at 23:00.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th January 2011, 14:09
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Run it with postfix enabled, or it won't process mails.
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th January 2011, 19:35
gachnar gachnar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ran the command with postfix enabled and it made it past there once, but I wasn't able to get that text saved. when I retried it again, it still hangs at the message: "Building a message batch to scan..."

checked the mail.log and couldn't find the relevant section I was talking about. Any other suggestions?

Last edited by gachnar; 11th January 2011 at 20:00.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th January 2011, 18:11
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Do you by chance have amavisd-new installed? Check to make sure your clamd config is correct with the proper user. This is what my clamd.conf looks like:
HTML Code:
#Automatically Generated by clamav-base postinst
#To reconfigure clamd run #dpkg-reconfigure clamav-base
#Please read /usr/share/doc/clamav-base/README.Debian.gz for details
LocalSocket /var/run/clamav/clamd.ctl
FixStaleSocket true
LocalSocketGroup clamav
LocalSocketMode 666
# TemporaryDirectory is not set to its default /tmp here to make overriding
# the default with environment variables TMPDIR/TMP/TEMP possible
User clamav
AllowSupplementaryGroups true
ScanMail true
ScanArchive true
ArchiveBlockEncrypted false
MaxDirectoryRecursion 15
FollowDirectorySymlinks false
FollowFileSymlinks false
ReadTimeout 180
MaxThreads 12
MaxConnectionQueueLength 15
LogSyslog false
LogFacility LOG_LOCAL6
LogClean false
LogVerbose false
PidFile /var/run/clamav/clamd.pid
DatabaseDirectory /var/lib/clamav
SelfCheck 3600
Foreground false
Debug false
ScanPE true
ScanOLE2 true
ScanHTML true
DetectBrokenExecutables false
ExitOnOOM false
LeaveTemporaryFiles false
AlgorithmicDetection true
ScanELF true
IdleTimeout 30
PhishingSignatures true
PhishingScanURLs true
PhishingAlwaysBlockSSLMismatch false
PhishingAlwaysBlockCloak false
DetectPUA false
ScanPartialMessages false
HeuristicScanPrecedence false
StructuredDataDetection false
CommandReadTimeout 5
SendBufTimeout 200
MaxQueue 100
ExtendedDetectionInfo true
StreamMaxLength 0
LogFile /var/log/clamav/clamav.log
LogTime true
LogFileUnlock false
LogFileMaxSize 0
Bytecode true
BytecodeSecurity TrustSigned
BytecodeTimeout 60000
OfficialDatabaseOnly false
CrossFilesystems true
freshclam.conf
HTML Code:
# Automatically created by the clamav-freshclam postinst
# Comments will get lost when you reconfigure the clamav-freshclam package

DatabaseOwner clamav
UpdateLogFile /var/log/clamav/freshclam.log
LogVerbose false
LogSyslog false
LogFacility LOG_LOCAL6
LogFileMaxSize 0
LogTime true
Foreground false
Debug false
MaxAttempts 5
DatabaseDirectory /var/lib/clamav
DNSDatabaseInfo current.cvd.clamav.net
AllowSupplementaryGroups false
PidFile /var/run/clamav/freshclam.pid
ConnectTimeout 30
ReceiveTimeout 30
TestDatabases yes
ScriptedUpdates yes
CompressLocalDatabase no
Bytecode true
# Check for new database 24 times a day
Checks 24
DatabaseMirror db.local.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror database.clamav.net
Double check to make sure it looks like mine.
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th January 2011, 20:06
gachnar gachnar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Checked mine against yours and had to make the following changes to my clamd.conf. I commented out the following two lines. My freshclam.conf was the same as what you had posted.

#OLE2BlockMacros false
#StreamMaxLength 25M
StreamMaxLength 0

I do not have amavisd-new installed.

Last edited by gachnar; 12th January 2011 at 20:09.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 13th January 2011, 14:48
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

This really looks like a problem for the mailscanner list. I have never actually had that problem with any of my setups.

Give the mailscanner list (http://lists.mailscanner.info/mailma...fo/mailscanner) a try, maybe someone knows what's happening on your system.

Just out of curiousity, try increasing the ram, I read somewhere about another user who had 512Mb ram and was having the same issues. He eventually increased his ram to around 768Mb and the problem went away.
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14th January 2011, 03:54
gachnar gachnar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll try upping the memory like you said. I'll also start from the beginning again.. I really really want this to work. When I can get his working, I actually plan on putting my own site up and getting a whole setup rolling. I've already got the mail server running ubuntu using citadel as my email server. It's authenticating to a server 2k3. Just giving some details on my particular setup.

EDIT:

I do have one question that kinda kept me confused. What should I put for my ORG-NAME and LONG-ORG-NAME. Also in the postfix conf file myorigin and myhostname.tld

Say if my company was Widget Co. and my site was widgetco.cc with my mail server being hosted at mail.widgetco.cc.

Third question in /opt/MailScanner/etc/spam.assassin.prefs.conf
for the bayes section would my headers be x-widgetco-cc?

Any Help?

Last edited by gachnar; 14th January 2011 at 05:17.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19th January 2011, 15:25
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
 
Default

Hey,

orgname is usually the abbreviation of your company's name while longorgname would be the full name.

myorigin would be widgetco.cc and myhostname would be mail.widgetco.c.

If you used widgetco.cc as myorigin, then you would place that in spam.assassin.prefs.conf eg. x-widgetco-cc.
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MailWatch Error: no rows retrieved from database sergio.arnaldo Server Operation 25 21st March 2011 07:05
The Perfect SpamSnake - Ubuntu Jeos 10.10 - Managing transport relay_domains etc mintydave HOWTO-Related Questions 19 20th January 2011 04:15
SpamSnake 10.10 issue - Quarantine reports colskinet HOWTO-Related Questions 3 25th December 2010 20:17
More Perfect SpamSnake 10.10 probs! colskinet HOWTO-Related Questions 7 19th December 2010 20:51
MailScanner trouble with DBD-MYSQL sergio.arnaldo Server Operation 11 26th August 2009 19:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.