#1  
Old 4th January 2011, 23:22
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation New Site No Longer Working?

Hello,

I tried to create a new site today and it's no longer working. Things have been going smoothly with setting up new sites and new DNZ zones to go with them and so far so good.

But I just tried to set a new one up and when I try to visit the site I get a 404. I checked the Apache error and access logs as well as the "other_vhosts_access.log" log and I don't see anything unusual. I also checked the error log of the site I created through ISPConfig and it's blank.

The directory is there as it should be. And the Apache vhost file looks correct.

I'm stumped.

Help?

`dkdzn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th January 2011, 23:33
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nevermind... now it's working. I have no idea why. I tried it 3 times and it wouldn't work. I tried a different test domain name and it worked. So, I deleted that test domain and tried the original domain and it also worked.

Not sure what that was about.

But, it's working.

Thanks!

`dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th January 2011, 03:06
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay... maybe I spoke too soon. Something really weird is happening. Sometimes creating the new domains works and sometimes it doesn't. I've done the process a dozen times now. I create the site in the websites tab ... then I create the DNS with all the appropriate information. I can't be getting it wrong so many times.

Another odd thing is that if I delete the old DNS zones and the old web site.. then recreate it with the same name... it creates a new directory (client_#/web_##) ... but retains the old symlink to the deleted directory.

What's going on?!

Help!

`dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th January 2011, 12:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
 
Default

Ita may take up to 48 hours until new dns records work because caching dns servers do not fetch new data until the ttl is over. So creating and deleting things in a short time period which fail is no indication if there is really a problem. It just causes more harm then it helps.

If you have a problem with dns or the website, then you should take a look at the apache log and test the nds records etc. but dont delete the site or dns record and recreate it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added new site, PHP not working spuppy Installation/Configuration 31 2nd September 2008 13:52
site added not working, error Access forbidden! eume5mo General 2 25th June 2008 22:48
New Site Created, but DNS not working torqhost Installation/Configuration 2 1st September 2007 15:11
Static Web Site Configurations christopher Installation/Configuration 8 18th November 2006 14:43
PHP Sessions not working on one site! badben General 5 24th August 2006 17:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.