Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th December 2010, 02:49
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Question Partial Server Migration - Nameserver Config help needed

I have a VPS called s1.snowweb.info (which used to be running DirectAdmin but I haven't renewed the license for that recently) and new VPS on a different host called s2.snowweb.info.

The plan is ultimately to move everything onto s2 and let s1 go, but I want to get everything right on s2 first and then migrate each domain on s1 to s2 one at a time.

My registrar is godaddy and my previous glue records on godaddy were originally:

Code:
ns1 -> 216.108.227.20
ns2 -> 216.108.227.21
but I've added the following:

Code:
ns21 -> 46.37.191.167
ns22 -> 46.37.191.168
ns21.s2 -> 46.37.191.167 (created in error)
ns21.s2 -> 46.37.191.168 (created in error)
I will delete those created in error once the dust settles and I know that they're not doing anything.

The nameservers registered are:
Code:
ns1.snowweb.info
ns2.snowweb.info
They are both hosted on the same machine.

s2 has two IP addresses assigned to it, which are 46.37.191.167 - 168.

I'm wanting to create two nameservers ns21.snowweb.info and ns22.snowweb.info for the new server (s2) but figure out how to do it. I've purchased the manual but so far it has not been detailed enough to help me with any of the problems I've had.

Please see the attached image taken from phpMyAdmin -> ISPConfig -> dns_rr showing the records of the table.

Many thanks in advance. It's a great piece of software - I just wish the documentation was more complete :-)
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th December 2010, 14:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You created a zone for a subdomain (s2.snowweb.info)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2010, 15:52
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yes, I believe so. The reason was because one server (s1.snowweb.info) was going to be responsible for a bunch of sites and then s2.snowweb.info was going to be responsible for another bunch of sites. I already have s1.snowweb.info up and running (it's a couple of years old and is being migrated).

I think I created a mess back then when I named my server s1.snowweb.info but the nameservers ns1.snowweb.info and ns2.snowweb.info. I think it would have been better to call them ns1.s1.snowweb.info and ns2.s1.snowweb.info instead. Then I could have easily split s1 from s2 and kept snowweb.info neutral!

I think I now have figured out a solution to untangling the mess I created. I'll set each domain up with it's own custom nameservers when I migrate it and will only setup my s2.snowweb.info nameservers after I've pulled the plug on s1.snowweb.info. In order to set them up now, it seems like I will disrupt my existing domains on s1.snowweb.info and I'm not prepared to move them all yet.

Originally the idea of creating a subdomain for each server was so that I could register just one domain and use the same domain name for all my servers. It just seemed wasteful registering one for every server when it doesn't get much public exposure anyway. I don't know how others do it?

Anyway, I think, what I'm saying is that I've now formed a plan in my head that should allow a successful relatively risk free migration! I'll get back here if it fails!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th December 2010, 16:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You cannot create zones for subdomains. You can create zones only for full domains (e.g. snowweb.info).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
snowweb (14th December 2010)
  #5  
Old 14th December 2010, 16:59
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ah! Ok. Thanks Falko. Looks like I need to visit the drawing board again!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th December 2010, 16:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You might be interested in the following tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
snowweb (15th December 2010)
  #7  
Old 15th December 2010, 16:43
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Thanks Falko. Will definitely read that. :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns, migration, nameserver

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail -Ubuntu 8.04 c4rdinal HOWTO-Related Questions 112 23rd August 2011 10:49
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
problem with upgrade to 2.2.34 brianetilley Installation/Configuration 14 11th November 2009 17:22
Spamsnake - Problem with spamassassin, FuzzyOcr and MySQL debuguser HOWTO-Related Questions 6 16th September 2008 18:37
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.