Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th December 2010, 19:41
josesoto josesoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How to bind all ISPconfig3 services to one IP

Hi!

My Server has 2 IPs.
Now what Id like to do is to bind all of my ISPconfig3 services (mostly apache) to one IP-Address, eg. so that I can use the ports 80,8080,443 and so on, on the second IP for different services.
Is there a easy way to do this?

Thanks a lot in advance!

jose
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th December 2010, 10:03
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,386
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Thats done with the listen directive in the apache configuration file. Please see here in the apache manual:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/bind.html
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th December 2010, 11:19
josesoto josesoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So - just to be sure to do the right thing - what you're saying is I should change /etc/apache2/ports.conf according to the link you posted?

What about the vhosts? i probably need to edit all of them as well, but wouldn't that somehow interfere with ispconfig since they are managed by ispconfig?
Quote:
Note that if the <VirtualHost> is set for an address and port that the server is not listening to, it cannot be accessed.
Would be nice to be able to do this via ISPconfig interface

Last edited by josesoto; 9th December 2010 at 11:39.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th December 2010, 11:57
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,386
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

No vhosts have to be edited, so there is nothing to be done in ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th December 2010, 12:25
josesoto josesoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi till,

thanks for the quick reply. i looked into it and found a solution after a bit trial and error

this is how my /etc/apache2/ports.conf looks like:
Code:
NameVirtualHost 1.2.3.4:80
Listen 1.2.3.4:80

<IfModule mod_ssl.c>
    # SSL name based virtual hosts are not yet supported, therefore no
    # NameVirtualHost statement here
	Listen 1.2.3.4:443
</IfModule>
but after the restart of apache i had some warnings. so i searched the apache manual once again. and this is what i came up with:

for this to work, all the vhost's >must< match the NameVirtualHost, so i had to edit all the vhosts in /etc/apache2/sites-available so that they would have something like <VirtualHost 1.2.3.4:80> instead of <VirtualHost *:80>

then the warnings disappeared, so i guess there should be editing to the vhosts after all.

so, the new question is:
will ispconfig allow those changes or will they be reverted to their original state at some point? is there something more to be done?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th December 2010, 12:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josesoto View Post
for this to work, all the vhost's >must< match the NameVirtualHost, so i had to edit all the vhosts in /etc/apache2/sites-available so that they would have something like <VirtualHost 1.2.3.4:80> instead of <VirtualHost *:80>
You must select the specific IP address in the web site settings in ISPConfig instead of *. If you don't do this and write your changes to the configuration files manually, they will be overwritten by ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th December 2010, 15:43
josesoto josesoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks!

I'll do that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 12:30
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 12:40
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.