Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2010, 18:43
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Comodo SSL- Not loading web pages from https

I am trying to install a Comodo SSL on my ISPConfig 3 site. I have the latest version of IPSConfig 3.0.3 on Debian 5.
I did as per the instructions. Created the CSR and pasted it into Comodo's site. They in turn sent me 2 files, the .crt and a .ca-bundle.
I copied and pasted the CRT into the SSL Certificate Window and the ca-bundle into the SSL Bundle window, on SSL Action I chose Save Certificate and then clicked on the Save button. I waited until I saw the Job Queue was clear and when I type in my url https:.www.domainname.com, then site always times out with nothing loading.
I also tried copying the files directly into the SSL forder for this web site and I get the same result. There are no erros in the web site's log files and none in the apache2 log file. Port 443 is forwared to the Server's local IP. It is the ONLY one with an SSL among the 6 sites on the server. I have looked at all of the vhost files and only the one site I want to have an SSL has any mention of an SSL.
When creating the SSL Request, I spelled out the state completely FLORIDA, the locality is a 2 word city DEERFIELD BEACH, organisation is TIDES MARINE, INC. organisation unit is SALES , country is US and the domain is www.domainname.com I sent everything in uppercase except the domain name (didn't know if that matters).
The IP address is set to the local ip address of the server, not the *

The self assigned SSL works for ISPCONFIG on 8080 and in the past I have had a self assigned SSL for another site, but that has been removed and the SSL flag unchecked for that site quite a while ago.

What do I try now?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2010, 21:51
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Angry

Chalk this up to inexperience with SSL's.
Had a Server Crash and the IP has changed. I didn't update the IP at Comodo's site before I applied for a new SSL.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th October 2010, 05:43
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I am out of ideas. Doesn't matter if I use the Comodo Cert or the Self Assigned Cert, the https://www.mydomain.com will not load any files. The ISPConfig will load using https://www.tidesmarine.com:8080 nd well as phpmyadmin.
No errors are in the apache2 error log.

Where do I look now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th October 2010, 17:34
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I deleted all of the SSL certs and removed the check mark on SSL for the domain, deleted the SSL Cert entries in ISPConfig, clicked save and let it all update.

I then tried to install a self signed SSL as per the manual and still get nothing when I try to access the site via https. I have triple checked that port 443 is forwarded to the local IP address and this is the ONLY domain with an SSL Cert. I have the ip address shown in ISPConfig, not an * and www as the Auto Subdomain. The SSL Domain in the SSL Tab is set to www.domainname.com

Everything appears to be right and there are files in the .../web7/ssl folder that are not 0 bytes: listed as, (domainname is replaced for the actual domain name):
'www.domainname.com.crt'
'www.domainname.com.csr'
'www.domainname.com.key'
'www.domainname.com.key.org'

('s were added so it won't change to url's)

but this is in the cron log
Generating RSA private key, 2048 bit long modulus
.........+++
.+++
e is 65537 (0x10001)
writing RSA key
chmod: cannot access '/var/www/clients/client1/web7/*'

Is that normal?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th October 2010, 13:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Can you post the output of
Code:
ls -la /var/www/clients/client1/web7/
?

Are there any errors in the Apache SSL error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th October 2010, 16:34
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Can you post the output of
Code:
ls -la /var/www/clients/client1/web7/
?

Are there any errors in the Apache SSL error log?
Only log file I see is /var/log/apache2/error.log and there are no errors about the SSL there:

Code:
drwxr-xr-x  7 root root     4096 2010-10-29 10:16 .
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root     4096 2010-10-22 12:52 ..
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       16 2010-10-24 00:31 backup -> /var/backup/web7
-rwxr-xr-x  1 web7 client1  1135 2010-10-29 06:08 .bash_history
drwxr-xr-x  2 web7 client1  4096 2010-10-21 08:17 cgi-bin
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root       40 2010-10-28 13:02 .htpasswd_stats
lrwxrwxrwx  1 web7 client1    40 2010-10-21 08:17 log -> /var/log/ispconfig/httpd/tidesmarine.com
drwxrwxrwx  2 root root     4096 2010-10-21 14:12 PW
drwxrwxrwx  3 web7 client1  4096 2010-10-28 11:13 ssl
drwxrwxrwx  2 web7 client1  4096 2010-10-29 10:19 tmp
drwxrwxrwx 42 web7 client1 20480 2010-10-28 14:29 web


I did a reinstall of ISPConfig and now I get this:
[warn] VirtualHost 78.153.221.50:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 78.153.221.50:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive

I had to make all other sites inactive so this one would show up on the internet. How do I fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th October 2010, 18:58
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,400
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,493 Times in 4,324 Posts
Default

Go to system > server IP, click on a ip, disable the namevirtualhost checkbox and click on save. The click on the same ip, enable the checkbox again and click on save.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
jtheed (29th October 2010)
  #8  
Old 1st November 2010, 16:27
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Still no joy on the SSL working. Site just times out in the browser when using https. I have deleted the SSL for this domain and tried installing one on another domain that is on the same box and get no joy there either. Any ideas or thoughts about where to look would be great as I can't put up our Online Store until I get the SSL working.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th November 2010, 18:18
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Final Update

I am going to have to say that this was caused by a bad update from 3.0.2.2 to 3.0.3. When I did a fresh install on another machine, I got a quite a few more icons etc in the new install than I could see in the update and the SSL cert works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th November 2010, 08:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheed View Post
I got a quite a few more icons etc in the new install
Did you clear your browser cache?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm attack brute force qb7 General 6 21st July 2012 21:34
SSL for virtual hosts on one certificate rbartz Tips/Tricks/Mods 8 20th November 2007 17:59
Need help with ATI's graphics driver installer Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 25 16th June 2007 13:33
Problems with the virtual email system with postfix, courier,mysql Greg Parker HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd January 2007 17:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.