Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2010, 06:41
abubin abubin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default possible to change default domain name?

I have setup ispconfig3 with aaa.domain.com. So I can use aaa.domain.com to access the control panels and so on.

Now, I would like to change this domain name to bbb.another.com. Is that possible?

How deep is the default domain name tied to ispconfig3?

How important is this domain name to ispconfig3?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th October 2010, 10:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Quote:
How deep is the default domain name tied to ispconfig3? How important is this domain name to ispconfig3?
ISPCOnfig does not use the default domain name. It is only used in the server settings to identify the server.

The system part that relies on that name is postfix, so you will have to change the name in the following files (if exists):

/etc/postfix/main.cf
/etc/mailname
/etc/hostname
/etc/hosts

and then restart postfix and amavisd.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2010, 22:21
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
 
Default

If you simply want to access the control panel from another domain, you can do that easily. You can use any of your domains hosted on your server:
Http://anyhosteddomain.com:8080
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proftpd + MySQL virtual users, can't connect geekman HOWTO-Related Questions 28 27th September 2010 19:03
User creating shoevring Developers' Forum 7 25th July 2010 11:17
Email Could not send and receive piseth Installation/Configuration 16 17th July 2010 19:27
CentoS doesn't send the emails vaio1 Installation/Configuration 18 5th November 2008 18:51
About creating database satimis Server Operation 4 22nd June 2007 17:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.