Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th October 2010, 18:24
vikas027 vikas027 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy A High-Availability Load Balancer With HAProxy/Heartbeat on RHEL 5.4

Dear All,

I am trying to setup a High-Availability HTTP Load Balancer With HAProxy & Heartbeat using the below links. I have all RHEL 5.4 servers hosted on VMWare.

http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...rtbeat-fedora8
http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...eat-fedora8-p2

This is the scenario, as given in the links as wells as my setup.
Shared IP: 192.168.0.120

Load Balancer 1
Hostname: lb1.example.com
IP: 192.168.0.110

Load Balancer 2
Hostname: lb2.example.com
IP: 192.168.0.111

Web Server 1
Hostname: http1.example.com
IP: 192.168.0.112

Web Server 2
Hostname: http2.example.com
IP: 192.168.0.113


I have followed all the steps mentioned in the links religiously except the 2.2 here, in which it is asking to configure the vhosts. I could not really understand :scratch:, what is to be placed in /etc/httpd/conf.d/vhosts.conf file and in which Web Server.

Due to this step only, I think I am failing in Failover test given in Point 4.1 here. I am able to open the webpage by http://192.168.0.120/ which gives the content of Web Server 1 (http1.example.com). But, when I try to shutdown the http service (to check failover), it does not shows the contents of Web Server 2 (http2.example.com)

Although, I am able to succeed in Failover Test 4.2, in which shared IP 192.168.0.120 switches when I try to start/stop the any of the Load Balancers.

Waiting for your precious answers. Thanks in advance.



----------------------
Best Regards,
Vikas

Last edited by vikas027; 17th October 2010 at 18:28. Reason: Signature
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th October 2010, 19:41
vikas027 vikas027 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Cool

Hello People,

I have solved it.

I had mistakenly used 192.168.0.112 IP in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf of Web Server 2 (http2.example.com). I should have used 192.168.0.113.
__________________
==> VIKAS <==

LINUX SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR


__________________________________________________

* RHCE - 805009991336981
* Registered Linux User - 484205
* Sun Certified System Administrator for Solaris 10 OS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability (Load Balancing) behind a firewall geek.de.nz Server Operation 7 4th January 2011 13:58
HA Load Balancer with HAProxy/Heartbeat jbimmerle Installation/Configuration 2 8th September 2009 18:26
High Availability Cluster Using Debian Lenny jbimmerle Installation/Configuration 0 4th September 2009 03:01
High Availability and Load Balanced MySQL cluster EricTRA HOWTO-Related Questions 1 4th March 2009 13:27
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.