Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 17th October 2010, 19:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thibotus01 View Post
Hum... I set /home/BACKUP in the server settings like you said.

And it changed all directories in 000-apps.vhost :
/var/www with /home/

so I got this :

Code:
Starting web server: apache2Warning: DocumentRoot [/home/apps] does not exist
Syntax error on line 21 of /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-apps.vhost:
can't get fastcgi file info: /home/php-fcgi-scripts/apps/.php-fcgi-starter(/home/php-fcgi-scripts/apps/.php-fcgi-starter), errno: 2
 failed!
What you did is that you changed the website basedir (the field labeled with "Website basedir" which is on the web tab) and not the backup directory (the field labeled "Backup directory" which is on the server tab). Change the webroot back to /var/www and then change the backup folder to e.g. /home/backup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 17th October 2010, 19:51
thibotus01 thibotus01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 89
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
What you did is that you changed the website basedir (the field labeled with "Website basedir" which is on the web tab) and not the backup directory (the field labeled "Backup directory" which is on the server tab). Change the webroot back to /var/www and then change the backup folder to e.g. /home/backup.
Absoluetly not. I only change the backup folder exactly where you said... you should check your script maybe
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th October 2010, 20:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thibotus01 View Post
Absoluetly not. I only change the backup folder exactly where you said... you should check your script maybe
I just tested it on my server. Changing the backup folder does not change the apps vhost but changing the website basedir instead of the backup directory has exactly the effect that you described. So on your server, the website basdir setting has been changed to /home/backup and not the backup directory.

So to fix your setup, follow the instructions that I posted above and set the website bsedir back to /var/www and then change the backup directory to /home/backup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th October 2010, 20:21
thibotus01 thibotus01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 89
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I already fixed the problem when I announced on the forum. I'll try again in few minutes... But I'm sure I have only changed the backup dir. I'm not that idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th October 2010, 23:30
thibotus01 thibotus01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 89
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I confirm the bug... I'll bet 100 euros
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18th October 2010, 11:07
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

I confirm that it dont exist on my systems (debian) and I verified in the sources that there is no connection between these two variables in the sourcecode. If noone else is able to confirm this then it is a configuration problem on your system only.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18th October 2010, 15:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thibotus01 View Post
it's always start like this before becoming much expansive.
On http://www.howtoforge.com/download-t...onfig-3-manual , I explained that ISPConfig 3 will continue to be free. And I also explained why it's necessary to charge for the manual - we hope that this will allow us to employ a full-time developer for ISPConfig from which you and all other users will benefit because development will be much faster, new features can be implemented faster, we can provide better and faster support, etc. Right now, there are two main developers, Till and me, and we invest lots of time each day in answering emails, phone calls, forum posts, writing tutorials, doing administrative things, etc., before we even find time to develop ISPConfig - if there's any time left at all, and all this support is free for our users. And besides all these activities, I managed to write the manual which took me nearly six months, and now we give it away for almost nothing. I don't understand why it is so hard to understand for some parts of the Open-Source community that we have to earn money to pay bills. Would you want to work for us full-time without being paid?
5 EUR per manual will not make us rich, if that is your concern...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19th October 2010, 17:29
hxizan hxizan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Can't be more agree with Falko about the manual, you spend you effort and it's worth
For my case, I keep the backup folder in default setting (/var/backup) which is my separate drive and I can see the web folders like web1, web3, ... web20 day later. However, they are all empty folders !?. Anyone here ever have the same problem? I use CentOS 5.5 i386.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th October 2010, 18:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Please check if the zip and sudo packages are installed.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19th October 2010, 20:22
yoplait yoplait is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Thanks: 50
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

free doesn't mean that you don't have to pay ! Of course, it's always better, for the "client" when it's free of pay, but the GPL allow this.

For a such great tool, of course, you can understand a lot of things alone and the forum is really helpfull, but if you want to help them to continue like this, you can also buy this manual !

Free is wonderful .

edit : (oups, it was a answer to the first page ^^)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CGI Form not working on site pebkac Installation/Configuration 10 10th July 2009 12:00
Setting up a backup mail server setup with two installations of ISPConfig zitch Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 30th December 2006 11:07
FTP not working mimic General 4 21st August 2006 17:21
/stats not working for first site created alexgearhart General 7 29th July 2006 23:51
Backup not working Bruce Installation/Configuration 5 16th November 2005 16:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.