Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th October 2010, 04:36
LinuxOnMyMac LinuxOnMyMac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Uploading Website Files to My Apache Server Via Webmin on my Centos 5.4 x86_64 Dedi

I have website files from a website that was created a few years ago and I have uploaded them to my Apache webserver using the upload feature on Webmin. However, when I got to the website's address, I still get the Centos intro page. When I add the subdirectory, I get the files in the parent directory.

What am I doing wrong and should I be using FTP or some other method besides webmin to upload the website files to my webserver?

By the way, I can do this via Windows using Putty or some other software or Mac. I have both.

I look forward to your solutions-oriented feedback and suggestions.

Dahna
The Lady Techie
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th October 2010, 14:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Are the files located in /var/www/html (the default Apache document root on CentOS) now?

I suggest you upload the files using FTP (e.g. with FileZilla) or SCP (e.g. with WinSCP on a Windows client).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th October 2010, 02:08
LinuxOnMyMac LinuxOnMyMac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up Uploading Website Files to My Apache Server Via Webmin on my Centos 5.4 x86_64 Dedi

I'll try using one of those file uploaders. I'm getting an "Error 1606...." error when trying to install stuff on Windows so I'll try it on Mac.

I'll let you know happens.

Dahna
The Lady Techie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th October 2010, 10:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

WinSCP doesn't require any installation at all. You just download the binary (e.g. to your desktop) and then start it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache, ftp, uploading, webmin, website

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Problems connecting my HTC Desire outgoing mail client to Postfix and ISP Config 2 j.smith1981 Server Operation 6 12th July 2010 19:07
Can't Ping over VPN RoMiONeT Server Operation 2 4th July 2010 00:19
Webmin docs missing namit Server Operation 11 5th January 2006 09:51
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.