Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2010, 22:58
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Basic setup for ISPConfig 3 and dns

I'm relatively new here, so excuse me if my questions are very rudimentary.

I have completed my server using the The Perfect Server - Ubuntu 9.04 [ISPConfig 3]. The server is in my home which has a single dynamic IP address. The address changes rarely but it does change (maybe 3 times a year at the most)

My problem: I need to have two dns servers (with two separate IP addresses) at the registrar where most of my domains are located. The rest of my domains are at Godaddy and I believe the same is true - need two dns servers.

Here are my questions:

1. What is the easiest and most efficient setup to handle DNS in this situation?

2. Should I use DyDNS? Do I use it for all dns or just as a secondary dns? Is the service that I need free or is it something they charge for? Does DyDNS actually give me an IP address that I can enter at the registrar for each virtual DNS server or is it a sub-domain?

3. If I use DyDns, do I need to "turn off" the DNS in ISPConfig or change other settings somewhere? Do I leave the zone empty?

4. If I don't use DyDNS, what is the process for changing the IP address in ISPConfig when it does change?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd September 2010, 15:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

In your case where you just have one public IP which changes from time to time, I suggest that you use your registrar's nameservers. I think most registrars offer DNS services now for free.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd September 2010, 16:12
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Thanks

Falko,

Thanks. I'm working with the options available at my registrar.

Do I have to turn off DNS on my server, or anything?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2010, 13:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
Do I have to turn off DNS on my server, or anything?
IF you don't use it, turn it off to save server resources.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th September 2010, 18:01
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Getting default Apache page

Falko,

Got the dns working now, but all my sites give the default Apache page that says simply "It Works"


I've tried it on several sites. Where's my issue?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th September 2010, 11:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

1) Add the internal IP address under system > server IP.
2) Select this IP address in the website settings of the websites that you created.
3) select auto subdomain: www in the website settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th September 2010, 22:18
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ftp to wrong folder

I think I'm almost there, thanks to you guys. I'm now getting the ISPconfig "Welcome to Your Website" default page.

Here's the latest issue(s).

I created an ftp login for myself and attempted to upload the files for my site. I still got the default page. I went digging around in the files and I found that in my directory (/var/www/clients/client1) there were three other directories - web1, web3, and mysite.com.

It appears that my files were uploaded to the web3 directory instead of the mysite.com directory.

Where did I mess up?

Second question. My ftp login has the word "default" in front of the username. Is there a way to get rid of this?

Third question. How do I create a user login that will allow someone else to login to a control panel that is specific to their website, not a "master" type control panel? Or is this possible? And what url would they use to log in?

I really have tried to research these questions before bothering you with them. But I've had no luck.

I truly appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th September 2010, 22:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Please delete the index.html file in the web folder of the website. It has to be deleted when you upload a new index.php or index.htm file. Also make sure that you uploaded your files into the web subfolder.

Regarding the FTP username prefix, this is configured under system > Interface config. You should remove the prefix only if this server has no clients, as FTP usernames have to unique for the whole server and the prefix enforces that.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th September 2010, 23:27
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default Wow

Boy do I feel stupid. I just assumed that Dreamweaver overwrote that file with mine. Rookie mistake.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic DNS Setup icemannz Installation/Configuration 7 31st May 2010 09:34
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.