Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th September 2010, 22:05
zaphod314159 zaphod314159 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ubuntu LoadBalancing error in final test.

I have been following the instructions in http://www.howtoforge.com/set-up-a-l...ter-ubuntu8.04 to set up a loadbalanced cluster. All the instructions in the article seem to work correctly up until the last step where you hit the virtual IP address in a browser. That returns an "Unable to connect" error. I am able to ping the virtual IP address from the computer I am trying to connect from, but I am unable to see any web pages.

This is the first time I have attempted to set up a cluster, so this is something of a learning experience for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th September 2010, 14:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you post the outputs of

Code:
ip addr sh eth0
Code:
ldirectord ldirectord.cf status
Code:
ipvsadm -L -n
Code:
/etc/ha.d/resource.d/LVSSyncDaemonSwap master status
from both load balancers? Any errors in your logs?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th September 2010, 18:17
zaphod314159 zaphod314159 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Can you post the outputs of

Code:
ip addr sh eth0
Active:
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
link/ether 08:00:27:8a:6a:e8 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 10.10.2.61/16 brd 10.10.255.255 scope global eth0
inet 10.10.2.60/24 brd 10.10.2.255 scope global eth0
inet6 fe80::a00:27ff:fe8a:6ae8/64 scope link
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Standby:
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
link/ether 08:00:27:14:4c:14 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 10.10.2.62/16 brd 10.10.255.255 scope global eth0
inet6 fe80::a00:27ff:fe14:4c14/64 scope link
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Code:
ldirectord ldirectord.cf status
Active:
ldirectord for /etc/ha.d/ldirectord.cf is running with pid: 5381

Standby:
ldirectord is stopped for /etc/ha.d/ldirectord.cf

Code:
ipvsadm -L -n
Active:
IP Virtual Server version 1.2.1 (size=4096)
Prot LocalAddress:Port Scheduler Flags
-> RemoteAddress:Port Forward Weight ActiveConn InActConn
TCP 10.10.2.60:80 rr
-> 10.10.2.63:80 Route 0 0 0
-> 10.10.2.64:80 Route 0 0 0
-> 127.0.0.1:80 Local 1 0 0

Standby:
IP Virtual Server version 1.2.1 (size=4096)
Prot LocalAddress:Port Scheduler Flags
-> RemoteAddress:Port Forward Weight ActiveConn InActConn

Code:
/etc/ha.d/resource.d/LVSSyncDaemonSwap master status
Active:
master running
(ipvs_syncmaster pid: 5530)

Standby:
master stopped

from both load balancers? Any errors in your logs?
I did not see any errors in the /var/logs/messages file. There was a bit of logging where on load balancer went down and the standby took over properly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th September 2010, 13:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Looks ok (is 10.10.2.60 the virtual IP)?

Do you use a firewall that maybe blocks 10.10.2.60?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th September 2010, 18:54
zaphod314159 zaphod314159 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I turned the firewall off completely. The cluster is a set of VirtualMachines that reside on my computer. Turing the firewall completely off solves a number of other problems and I can control access to the virtual machines. The virtual IP address is 10.10.2.60. I can get the load balancer working with the index.html page that is stored in the /var/www/index.html file, just not any other web service.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem send/receive Courier+Postfix+Squirrelmail Pirk Installation/Configuration 2 21st May 2010 13:26
Connection timed out on intermail outgoing mails gouravgarg Server Operation 6 5th March 2010 20:31
Postfix not... doing anything. torg HOWTO-Related Questions 2 18th January 2010 00:46
FFMPEG maybe not an php library? Mkipz Installation/Configuration 2 14th September 2009 21:13
Unbale to login to Postfix from webmail wasimriz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 6th April 2009 13:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.