Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 16th September 2010, 15:23
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks again Falko, I have set it up on both Primary & Secondary to do every 5 minutes so all bases are covered in both environments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Good point. Yes, I think creating the file every five minutes or so makes sense.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 19th September 2010, 13:30
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Creation of new site not working

Falko, it is not working.

1) Replication is working fine (ispconfigdb and Drupal databases)

2) I have the cron job creating the .run file every 10 minutes and that is working fine

3) However, I created a new Drupal site tied to webXdb1, and created the replication database stub on the secondary, etc. But, ISPConfig never creates the User/Group/etc in the OS (I checked /etc/passwd)

4) What I get from Drupal is:

Code:
Site off-line
The site is currently not available due to technical problems. Please try again later. Thank you for your understanding.
If you are the maintainer of this site, please check your database settings in the settings.php file and ensure that your hosting provider's database server is running. For more help, see the handbook, or contact your hosting provider.
The mysqli error was: Access denied for user 'webXu1'@'localhost' (using password: YES).
(and that is not because of any error in the settings.php, it is because that User/Group does not exist at the OS level so it can't authenticate with mysql using the credentials that are in the settings.php).

5) Reminder that I am not replicating the "/var/lib/mysql" database -- could this have anything to do with it?

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Good point. Yes, I think creating the file every five minutes or so makes sense.

Last edited by tester321; 19th September 2010 at 13:46.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th September 2010, 14:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Oh... I think that happens because the update status in the master database gets deleted after the backend has run, and that deletion of the update status gets replicated to the salve database before the backend on the slave server could do its job...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th September 2010, 14:44
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Is it a specific table?

OK,

Can you suggest a Table within ISPConfigdb that should not be replicated then, so the Slave can act on the .run but not have the completion flag set via replication before it acts?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Oh... I think that happens because the update status in the master database gets deleted after the backend has run, and that deletion of the update status gets replicated to the salve database before the backend on the slave server could do its job...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st September 2010, 18:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

No, because the update status is just a column in the respective table, not a table of its own.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 23rd September 2010, 11:14
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
 
Default

Just a quick thought: perhaps it could work like this if your replication slave is doing its work with a delay time, so it gets the changes a bit later (i.e. the update flag ist still there)

Another thing may be to rsync passwd and shadow files. As you said, the machines were originally cloned from the same VM so it should always stay in sync and besides the database replication and the whole directory tree under /var/www that is the only thing together with the VHost file of apache2 to keep in sync.

So perhaps it would be a possibility to do a full replica of the DB, sync /var/www, /etc/apache2/vhost/ & /etc/passwd, /etc/shadow, /etc/groups

Just a quick one, but I think the better way for staying in sync is to use ISPConfig3s multiple server configuration. v2 wasn't exactly made for that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
drupal, ispconfig2, mysql, replication, tweak

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My SQL Replication issue ? jithinkcs Server Operation 5 10th September 2010 16:47
MYsql replication questions. scottrill2 Server Operation 7 3rd September 2010 17:53
Master Master replication questions and problems marchost HOWTO-Related Questions 5 4th October 2008 13:50
mysql replication issues Jamesk5 Server Operation 8 23rd September 2006 14:40
ISPConfig server also a MySQL replication slave jamesh Installation/Configuration 1 2nd August 2006 09:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.