Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th September 2010, 22:38
MacGoose MacGoose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Where are the subdomain folder?

So I created a subdomain for my domain. But where is the folder for my subdomain?

, MacGoose
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th September 2010, 09:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,458
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Subdomains are aliases of a website which dont have a own folder. If you need a subdomain which separate folder, then create a website instead.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th September 2010, 19:00
MacGoose MacGoose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So I need to create a new website and then a new subdomain as an alias and a new ftp user just to get a subdomain?

I'm sorry to say this, but ISPConfig is the most difficult utility to use. I've never had this much problem setting up a simple subdomain before. It's also difficult in other areas too btw - maybe because of the complete lack of user documentation...

, MacGoose
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th September 2010, 20:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,458
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Quote:
So I need to create a new website and then a new subdomain as an alias and a new ftp user just to get a subdomain?
No. You just create a new website and enter "sub.domain.com" into the domain field. Quite easy and straight forward.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th September 2010, 22:31
MacGoose MacGoose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, thanks!

A follow-up question though.

I still have to create a new ftp user for the subdomain website? I don't see how else I can access the subdomain website through ftp.

And why does ISPConfig have that option "Subdomain for website" if it's no use...?

, MacGoose
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th September 2010, 11:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,458
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
I still have to create a new ftp user for the subdomain website? I don't see how else I can access the subdomain website through ftp.
Yes, you have to add a FTP user.

Quote:
And why does ISPConfig have that option "Subdomain for website" if it's no use...?
It is used quite often. Of you use modern cms systems like joomla, typo3 or wordpress and use subdomains, then all subdomains have to point to the same domain then the main website. In such a case, you use the subdomain function. Ánother use case is if you want to redirect the subdomain to another URL or script, then you use the subdomain function as well together with rewrite rules.

But what you wanted is a new virtual host, and this is named website in ispconfig. For a virtualhost, it doe snot matter if a domain is a second or third level domain aka subdomain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper subdomain support. arcain6 Feature Requests 1 28th June 2010 10:15
How Subdomain works (for documentation) moglia Developers' Forum 7 19th June 2010 22:14
redirect to subdomain to folder. enmi Installation/Configuration 4 10th December 2009 14:48
Redirect subdomain to folder geros Installation/Configuration 5 25th September 2009 18:21
Subdomain in diffrent folder jacek_arwal Installation/Configuration 4 11th August 2009 16:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.