#1  
Old 22nd August 2005, 08:48
linutzy linutzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Quota Clear Up

The following steps are from the perfect debian setup page:

touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug



This is from the ispconfig.com site:

Edit the file /etc/fstab and look for the entry, in which the directory /home is mentioned, e.g.
/dev/hda6/home ext2 default 1 2
Add the words usrquota and grpquota as follows:
/dev/hda6 /home ext2 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 2
Create the files aquota.user and aquota.group in the directory /home:
touch home/aquota.user
and
touch /home/aquota.group
Change the properties of the new files:
chmod 600/home/aquota.*
Reboot the server:
shutdown -r now
After the restart you have to do the following:
quotacheck -avugm
and
quotaon -avug


I take it both steps are the same correct?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2005, 10:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

For a DEBIAN Setup, follow the steps on the DEBIAN Howto.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2005, 11:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linutzy
The following steps are from the perfect debian setup page:

touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug



This is from the ispconfig.com site:

Edit the file /etc/fstab and look for the entry, in which the directory /home is mentioned, e.g.
/dev/hda6/home ext2 default 1 2
Add the words usrquota and grpquota as follows:
/dev/hda6 /home ext2 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 2
Create the files aquota.user and aquota.group in the directory /home:
touch home/aquota.user
and
touch /home/aquota.group
Change the properties of the new files:
chmod 600/home/aquota.*
Reboot the server:
shutdown -r now
After the restart you have to do the following:
quotacheck -avugm
and
quotaon -avug


I take it both steps are the same correct?
As always, it depends...
If you have a large / partition with all your websites and mailboxes on it, then do this:
Code:
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
If you have a partition for /home with your users' web sites on it, then do the same for /home.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2006, 11:35
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Why you are speaking about two different quotafiles? (Perfect Setup and ISPC quota setup)

Quote:
touch /quota.user /quota.group > (Perfect Setup)
and
Quote:
touch /home/aquota.user /home/aquota.group > (ISPC quota setup)
In the manpage of quota it says:
Quote:
aquota.user or aquota.group
quota file at the filesystem root (version 2 quota, non-XFS filesystems)
---------------------
quota.user or quota.group
quota file at the filesystem root (version 1 quota, non-XFS filesystems)
So the use of the quotafiles seems to depence on the quota version and not directly on an OS but OS can have diffenrent versions of quota.

right?

tom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd April 2006, 15:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
 
Default

Yes, it depends on the quota version that ships with your linux distribution.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
webmail klient quota problem? jernis Installation/Configuration 9 30th November 2005 23:14
Quota: Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 domino Installation/Configuration 7 20th August 2005 18:42
quota format not supported by file system bobway54 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 15th August 2005 11:55
Uebimiau quota... thomilla Programming/Scripts 3 5th June 2005 18:49
Quota myles Technical 1 20th May 2005 16:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.