Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th July 2010, 00:00
finn finn is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default add new subdomain with redirect type L fails when redirect path is /home/

Hi there.

Run into a problem I have replicated on two separate installs.

I add a new subdomain for a website, and set

Code:
host: home

domain: domain.com

Redirect Type: L

Redirect path: /home/

Active: checked
Browsing to the subdomain then gives me a 403

Code:
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access / on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
I try the exact same settings with other names of subdomain and folders which work just fine.

Is this picking up on the 'home' keyword as it is potentially a system path? Am I missing something obvious?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th July 2010, 10:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is this picking up on the 'home' keyword as it is potentially a system path?
Yes.

What you can try is to use either "home/" without a / at the beginning or the full path like /var/www/clients/client5/web3/web/home/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th July 2010, 13:24
finn finn is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Till.

Thanks for your quick reply.

I had already tried that, and it throws an error:
ERROR

Invalid redirect path. Valid redirects are for example: /test/ or http://www.domain.tld/test/
Adding the full URL for the "Redirect Path" does seem to work, but then the L flag seems not to be respected, and the browser is forwarded to the http://www.domain.tld/home/ rather than staying on http://home.domain.tld/

This also seems to happen for any subdomain named with a root system folder name (etc, var, home). Further, creating a folder in the root with the name 'subdomain' triggers the same behaviour for any subdomains called 'subdomain'. This could cause issues, if many clients had a subdomain 'mail' and one day we created a root folder called 'mail' - it could get very messy.

Is this a bug? Should I report it on the bugtracker?

Many thanks.

Finn.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th July 2010, 13:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is this a bug? Should I report it on the bugtracker?
Thats the normal behaviour of the apache webserver. Its not relkated to ispconfig, ispconfig is just a frontend which makes it easier to edit apache files.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th July 2010, 13:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Just as a note, if you want to have a subdomain that has its own directory, you normally create a website in ispconfig for this subdomain and not a redirect.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd August 2010, 08:23
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Just as a note, if you want to have a subdomain that has its own directory, you normally create a website in ispconfig for this subdomain and not a redirect.
When I add a subdomain, what does ispconfig3 do? where does it create? I dont see where to upload files. DNS records are set.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd August 2010, 09:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

A subdomain is a vhost alias, it does not has a separate directory.

As I mentioned above, if you want to have a separate directory, create a new website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd August 2010, 09:42
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
 
Default

aaaaaaah. I see. I didn't get it even after reading a few times.

thank you very much for your patience and details.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CP210x USB to UART Bridge Linux VCP Drivers(SILICON Labs) perfectpol7 Kernel Questions 13 9th November 2010 07:30
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 16:54
Fedora 13 BIND Server wont start. ev0css Installation/Configuration 1 23rd June 2010 22:16
Failover with VMWare Server - /var/vm isn't the right size.. Bart van Kleef HOWTO-Related Questions 24 30th August 2008 11:00
Cannot create client, reseller and hosting plan crapufish Installation/Configuration 22 15th March 2007 10:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.