Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th August 2010, 18:39
wikidd wikidd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Redirecting subdomains to external websites

Hopefully this is a simple problem. We are attemping to use ISPConfig to combine all our different services into one Control Panel. The last piece is our DNS provider allows us to setup forwards by creating dns entries like:

webmail.domain.tld -> forwards to -> http://owa.somedomain.com

From what I have seen we should be able to mimic the same functionality by creating a subdomain under the websites and redirecting it to an external site. So I setup a subdomain and set the redirection to the site but it just keeps showing the same homepage for the main domain. I have tried the different flags and confirmed the changes are being made in the vhost.

Is there anything else I should look at or try to see why this isn't working?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st August 2010, 10:42
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Use DNS

foo.example.com. CNAME bar.example.com.
bar.example.com. A 192.0.2.23

When an A record lookup for foo.example.com is done, the resolver will see a CNAME record and restart the checking at bar.example.com and will then return 192.0.2.23.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CNAME_record

Good luck,

Marty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st August 2010, 10:58
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
Default

or you could do a http redirect from the actual subdomain....
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st August 2010, 11:02
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjau View Post
or you could do a http redirect from the actual subdomain....

Thats what he is attempting to do but failing...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2010, 11:19
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
Default

make an index.php and add this to it:

Code:
<?php
/* This will give an error. Note the output
 * above, which is before the header() call */
header('Location: http://www.example.com/');
?>
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st August 2010, 15:39
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,458
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wikidd View Post
Hopefully this is a simple problem. We are attemping to use ISPConfig to combine all our different services into one Control Panel. The last piece is our DNS provider allows us to setup forwards by creating dns entries like:

webmail.domain.tld -> forwards to -> http://owa.somedomain.com

From what I have seen we should be able to mimic the same functionality by creating a subdomain under the websites and redirecting it to an external site. So I setup a subdomain and set the redirection to the site but it just keeps showing the same homepage for the main domain. I have tried the different flags and confirmed the changes are being made in the vhost.

Is there anything else I should look at or try to see why this isn't working?

Thanks
This should work by creating a subdomain.

1) Create a dns a-record for webmail.domain.tld pointing to the same IP address the the website where you want to create the subdomain.
2) Add a subdomain webmail.domain.tld and select as redirect type "No Flag" and enter as redirect path "http://owa.somedomain.com/".
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
redirecting rtmp requests to different websites based on host name vtapas Server Operation 0 9th August 2010 19:14
All Client Websites redirecting to single Client Mosquito General 20 26th January 2010 19:29
Redirecting all Subdomains maweki Installation/Configuration 3 19th August 2009 13:31
Can't receive external mail anymore - Ubuntu 8.10, ISPconfig, postfix, etc... malou Server Operation 3 15th April 2009 17:13
Subdomains with External DNS Server? z33k3r Installation/Configuration 3 14th February 2009 14:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.