Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th August 2010, 10:56
WDL WDL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Domains not mapping to site folders

Hi all,

I've had a trawl through the forum for this problem, and have applied the fixes I found with no luck.

We have a server running Ubuntu Server 10.04 and ISPConfig 3. It sits behind a router with two internal addresses (on eth0 and eth0:0). Those two internal addresses are DMZ'd and address mapped to 2 public IP's on the router.

ISPConfig is up and running, we have added the client and the site. The server is running BIND9 happily, and the domain routes to our server fine.

The problem is that when you navigate to the domain in question, you get the server's root index.html.

The domain is included as a virtualhost in apache2.conf and everything looks good. A quick summary of the config is:

- server has 2 public IPs mapped to 2 private IPs
- DNS has A records for domain and www.domain on public IP
- site is configured with private IP (have also tried using public)
- site has autosubdomain (www.)
- can ftp to the site folder fine

One other thing that is odd is that if you navigate from the server root to the site folder i.e. http://www.domain.com/sites/domain.com/ you get a 403 permission denied error page.

So, any ideas? I'm happy to dump up relevant config and outputs if asked for.

Cheers in advance!
(fingers crossed)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th August 2010, 15:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Ensure that you have selected the same IP address in the website settings then you have used for the DNS A-Record of the domain and www subdomain. Also check that you have activated auto subdomain www and that there are no jobs listed anymore in the jobqueue in the ispconfig monitor.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th August 2010, 19:17
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WDL View Post
... The domain is included as a virtualhost in apache2.conf ...
Maybe the Apache setup on Ubuntu is different to Centos, but AFAIK the virtual host for your site should not be in apache2.conf.

1/ Do you mean apache2.conf or httpd.conf?

2/ The virtual host settings should be in a file (one per domain) in "sites-available" with a pointer from "sites-enabled".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2010, 03:36
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 478
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_p View Post
Maybe the Apache setup on Ubuntu is different to Centos, but AFAIK the virtual host for your site should not be in apache2.conf.

1/ Do you mean apache2.conf or httpd.conf?

2/ The virtual host settings should be in a file (one per domain) in "sites-available" with a pointer from "sites-enabled".
This is how it is in debian, ubuntu's cousin = 1 file per domain as no2 above
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th August 2010, 08:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
This is how it is in debian, ubuntu's cousin = 1 file per domain as no2 above
This file setup is used by ISPConfig on all Linux distributions incl. centos.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
domain, ipsconfig, ubuntu, virtualhost

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple site with sub domains issues jtullous Installation/Configuration 6 22nd June 2010 02:41
New domains just points to random site mbogh General 4 6th June 2010 11:56
Exim Gateway with mailwatch (Unable to receive emails) siul0_0 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 8th May 2009 23:00
Two domains, one site, both domains for email chancer Installation/Configuration 1 18th September 2007 21:28
2 domains, 1 site wadims Installation/Configuration 13 31st May 2006 00:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.