Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th August 2010, 17:02
Darkphyre Darkphyre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long

Hello,

I am trying to setup the SSL Certificate on a website under ispconfig 3 but I am getting the following error when I try to access the site via https:// in firefox

Quote:
SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.

(Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)
The SSL Certificate is fine as it worked under a different web server that did not use ispconfig 3. I have tried manually copying and pasting the contents of the certificate file into the /var/www/website/ssl/website.crt file and restarting apache. I have tried re-enabling the ssl module via a2enmod ssl but it just says that the module is already enabled. My apache 2 ports.conf file looks like this:

Quote:
NameVirtualHost *:80
Listen 80

<IfModule mod_ssl.c>
# SSL name based virtual hosts are not yet supported, therefore no
# NameVirtualHost statement here
Listen 443
</IfModule>

the /var/log/apache2/error.log file is spitting this out whenever I try to visit the site via https but not via http:

Quote:
[Wed Aug 11 10:09:46 2010] [error] [client x.x.x.x] client denied by server configuration: /htdocs

Google doesn't seem to be yielding any answers as to why this is happening.

Thank you!

Last edited by Darkphyre; 11th August 2010 at 17:11.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th August 2010, 20:18
Darkphyre Darkphyre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Okay. I figured it out. I manually had to add the entire SSL Entry to the /etc/apache2/sites-available/domain.com.vhost file... But why didn't ispconfig3 do that for me? Does it not do it unless I "create" the certificate through the interface? If I already have an existing certificate I'm going to have to add the ssl config into the .vhost manually? Also, in the SSL tab of a domain in ISPConfig, there really needs to be a SSL Key field for people that created their .key files in a different server....

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.