#1  
Old 24th June 2010, 11:51
wiliamsmith10 wiliamsmith10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora not install

hey i have P4 3.0ghz,2 gb ram, 101 motherboard.
but my problem is when i am trying to install Fedora my computer is just frieze. and i am not able to do any thing so i restart it.
__________________
houses to rent in london
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th June 2010, 15:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Which Fedora version? I guess your hardware isn't supported, so you might want to try another distribution such as Ubuntu.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2010, 08:45
jackelliot jackelliot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora not install

ok so i have so iso's for fedora all of them are titled like this "Fedora-9-i386-disc1" xept the # at the end changes and there is 6 iso's should i burn all of them on different disc's or all together?
__________________
Parental Control Software
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th July 2010, 07:09
cvgeeks cvgeeks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Talking

Funny but I had a similar setup as you infact I had several 1U servers all with this very configuration and I was learning about installing Fedora when I came across an issue while running the installer.

My server kept freezing not at the same point but it was a random freez in no place inparticular during the install. The fedora disc #1 at the begining has a nice memory testing utility it feels alot like memtest (not sure if thats what it is) but it feels like that. Anyway I ran this nice utility and sure enough I saw all these red lines with white text and it was all bad ram. So I replaced the ram and my install went flawlessly this time.

I'm not sure if this is your problem but that happend to me and thats what i did to fix it.

Hope this helps you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiliamsmith10 View Post
hey i have P4 3.0ghz,2 gb ram, 101 motherboard.
but my problem is when i am trying to install Fedora my computer is just frieze. and i am not able to do any thing so i restart it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th July 2010, 07:10
cvgeeks cvgeeks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
 
Talking

I burnt all my disc's on seperate cd's. This worked great for me.

Hope this helps you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackelliot View Post
ok so i have so iso's for fedora all of them are titled like this "Fedora-9-i386-disc1" xept the # at the end changes and there is 6 iso's should i burn all of them on different disc's or all together?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install failure -- Apache 1.3 missing? Allen15 Installation/Configuration 11 24th February 2009 09:53
Fedora 9 Perfect Server - BIND? coldspring HOWTO-Related Questions 1 28th May 2008 21:59
Can not logon to Fedora after ISPConfig install swizzleme Installation/Configuration 3 13th September 2007 13:31
Fedora Core 5 graphical install rlhesson Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2006 17:00
Install ERROR Fedora 3 need re2c 0.9.1??? byt3 Installation/Configuration 1 31st March 2006 18:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.