Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th July 2010, 00:44
judicator judicator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Trouble with the DNS function

Hi,

I have some domains with www.nic.com.mx witch is the only one to provide mx domain name.

This provider does not have any dns server. What I must do is to set one or more ns servers.

I've add the domain to my ISPCONFIG server admin page but the NIC.MX tells me that the server is not "authoritative" for that domain.

How can I fix this ?

I'm running the latest ISPCONFIG and ubuntu server 10.04

Best regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th July 2010, 11:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Please ask the nic.com.mx support how to make a nameserver authoritative for a domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th July 2010, 20:30
judicator judicator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But they don't have any DNS server of any kind ...... they only provide the domain name without any support behind ......

I just have to point the name servers that will fully take charge of my domain .... witch I want to be my ISPConfig/bind server ....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th July 2010, 23:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What records did you set up in the zone?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th July 2010, 18:42
judicator judicator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nothing ..... I've just added a zone in ISPCONFIG ....

I must add a NS record that point to it's public IP ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th July 2010, 19:07
judicator judicator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've just added
: a A record (ns1 and the ip of my ispconfig server)
: a A record (www and the ip of my ispconfig server)
: a ns record (my domain as zone and ns1 as value)

but nothing ..... the registrar says that it's not authoritative
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th July 2010, 21:22
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

You need an A record for the domain name with a dot at the end. I have one .mx domain with the following records and it works with ISPConfig 3 (MyDNS).

Code:
A  	ftp 		 000.85.000.148  	0  	
A 	mail 		 000.85.000.148 		0 	
A 	mexicano1.mx. 	000.85.000.148 		0 	
A 	ns1 		 000.85.000.149 		0 	
A 	ns2 		 000.85.000.150 		0 	
A 	www 		000.85.000.148 		0 	
MX 	mexicano1.mx. 	mail.mexicano1.mx. 	10 	
NS 	mexicano1.mx. 	ns1.mexicano1.mx. 	0 	
NS 	mexicano1.mx. 	ns2.mexicano1.mx. 	0 	
TXT mexicano1.mx. 	v=spf1 a mx -all 0 	0
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th July 2010, 22:44
judicator judicator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Solved !

Thank you very much, it worked ! (after a refresh of the DNS)

Best regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
authoritative, dns, ispconfig, trouble

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help setting up domainpop with postfix kameelperdza Installation/Configuration 6 15th June 2009 07:49
cyrus-sasl won't install on my ubuntu9.04 kameelperdza Installation/Configuration 1 13th June 2009 10:28
Freebsd 6.1 support misterm Installation/Configuration 10 9th April 2009 09:29
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
SuSE Enterprise, PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly NexusTechUS Installation/Configuration 1 26th April 2007 20:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.