Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd June 2010, 19:21
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default Mail Server and Web Server for same domain on different machines.

Example: Two separate servers running ISPConfig 3, Server 1 and Server 2. How do I configure so that Server 1 handles all email for domains set up on Server 2? Server 2 will still handle http/ftp/ssh etc for its domains, just not email. Thanks.
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd June 2010, 19:36
damir damir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 375
Thanks: 11
Thanked 51 Times in 42 Posts
Default

Follow the perfect guide and install just email stuff, than when you come to ISPConfig install, choose expert and join master server. Do not install ISPConfig on slave (Mail) server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd June 2010, 19:46
BorderAmigos BorderAmigos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego & Tijuana
Posts: 302
Thanks: 26
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Send a message via MSN to BorderAmigos Send a message via Yahoo to BorderAmigos
Default

Thanks but no, that's not what I wanted. They are not master and slave, they are two individual servers.

I got it working by deactivating the email server on Server 2 then changing the MX and A records for mail to point to Server 1.
__________________
System6Hosting.com, ISPConfig 3, Debian.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd June 2010, 20:38
damir damir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 375
Thanks: 11
Thanked 51 Times in 42 Posts
Default

Ok, i misunderstood Glad you got it working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th June 2010, 09:37
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

I have a similar question,
I have my working server for both mail and sites with ISPC2 here at home.
I have set-up a new server with ISPC3 at the datacenter.

If I am starting to move over the sites will the fact that the .tld from that site points to the server in datacenter disable the mail for that .tld on the server at home?

The mail users using www.serverathome.nl as there mail server and this one I still haven't moved to the the new server at the datacenter. I was thinking first move the sites and last move the mail accounts.

Hope this makes sense....
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 16:54
Mail Server: Host or domain name not found. shoutkeeper Installation/Configuration 8 15th January 2009 14:24
relaying mail server changes mail recipient domain? ralic Server Operation 3 19th July 2008 22:28
Web server and Mail server on 2 ispconfig adrenalinic Installation/Configuration 1 3rd September 2006 17:55
Can't get MX for external mail server to work semmelbroesel Installation/Configuration 4 25th November 2005 17:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.