#1  
Old 28th May 2010, 13:47
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Move from local to data center.

Hi all,

I have a question about moving my local server to a datacenter.

Can I install my server "the perfect setup way" and when I am done with that chance the network interface IP address? So it's ready to go at the datacenter. (site's & users will follow later on)

So fist use a local ip and when i am finished just chance the ip address, or is the local ip address stored in some config files used by ISPConfig 3.
In that case i just install until chance of the ip and finish-up after the server is put in the datacenter.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th May 2010, 13:52
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

This is how I always do it.

I setup my servers in the office (local IP) and when ready I move the server to the DC, and change the needed info (IP, subnet, gateway, DNS and so on).
It's easy, and you do not need to spend to much time in the noisy DC's
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th May 2010, 14:13
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge View Post
This is how I always do it.

I setup my servers in the office (local IP) and when ready I move the server to the DC, and change the needed info (IP, subnet, gateway, DNS and so on).
It's easy, and you do not need to spend to much time in the noisy DC's
That's what i am planning to do, I just need an working clean server with ISPC3 on it.
but
Quote:
Originally Posted by edge View Post
and so on
is what is scaring me...

My plan is just and only to install my server (Debian perfect way) and after that just chance: ip-address, netmask, network, broadcast & gateway.
Bring it to the DC and finish up from at home through ssh, ftp and winscp.

Do I still have some "and so on" to worry about that way?
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2010, 14:38
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRKNeSS666NL View Post
Do I still have some "and so on" to worry about that way?
Not realy, and as long as you do not activate the firewall you should be fine. by setting missed things with SSH

I forgot to mention that I do the ISPconfig install (by SSH) when the server is in the DC.
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to edge For This Useful Post:
DaRKNeSS666NL (28th May 2010)
  #5  
Old 28th May 2010, 14:45
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks Edge,

I will chance my plan.

Going to just (like you) install debian & SSH and finish up from at home.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th May 2010, 15:16
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

@Darkness,

After configuring your /etc/hosts and /etc/network/interfaces files in the datacentre, you need to execute the command: /etc/init.d/networking restart
After that execute: ping www.google.nl for example to verify if your server is able to resolve domain names.

If not, please add this content to your file /etc/resolv.conf:

Code:
search
nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
nameserver 194.25.0.60
After that execute the command: ping www.google.nl again!

(The mentioned commands and file locations are for Debian)
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting

Last edited by Hans; 28th May 2010 at 15:19.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
DaRKNeSS666NL (28th May 2010)
  #7  
Old 28th May 2010, 15:45
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans View Post
@Darkness,

After configuring your /etc/hosts and /etc/network/interfaces files in the datacentre
I have done that already isn't that oke?

I have followed the perfect guide up to: 6 Configure The Network
completed set 6 with my own IP I got from the DC.

So I don't have to do anything else at the DC I thought.

Or is it better to JUST install Debian and SSH and complete step 6 in the DC?
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th May 2010, 15:47
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
 
Default

If you've done that already, you're done. BUt i did not know that, so i mentioned it (just in case)
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exim Gateway with mailwatch (Unable to receive emails) siul0_0 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 8th May 2009 23:00
Postfix not responding to telnet CarbonCopy Server Operation 6 8th May 2009 05:39
localhost postfix/master: fatal: bind 127.0.0.1 port 125: Permission denied g18c Installation/Configuration 4 24th March 2009 17:39
I Fail at installing ispconfig where did I go wrong? stocker741 Installation/Configuration 14 30th October 2008 14:12
Help with Bluetooth PAND josto HOWTO-Related Questions 1 7th August 2007 20:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.