Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th April 2010, 16:07
matt_thumper matt_thumper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question How to boot to the Primary Slave Drive

Hello,

I have a Dell Dimension 4400 (BIOS A02) which I've upgraded over the years and it is now our secondary home computer and it's running RedHat Linux.

It has two hard drives in it, like when it used to be a Windows machine.
Then, they were C:\ and D:\.

The problem is that in order for me to successfully boot up RedHat I have to hit F12 and go into the Dell boot menu:

Boot Device Menu
================

1. Normal
2. Primary Master Drive
3. Primary Slave Drive
4. Diskette Drive
5. Hard-Disk Drive C:
6. IDE CD-ROM Device

7. System Setup
8. IDE Drive Diagnostics
9. Boot to Utility Partition

Enter a choice: 1

---- And there I have to change the '1' (Normal, whatever that is....) to a '3' (Primary Slave Drive ).
Then it boots up just fine.

(If I just let the Dell default-boot, it goes into a DOS-like window with GRUB in the upper-left, but GRUB doesn't accept any keyboard input)

My Dell boot sequence interface only gives me 3 options and I can't add to them:
1. Diskette Drive
2. Hard-Disk Drive C:\
3. IDE CD-ROM Device

So I don't see a way to tell it to boot from the 'Primary Slave Drive'.

Can I change the BIOS to automatically boot to the 'Primary Slave Drive'?
If so, how do I do it.

Or, how do I change RedHat to boot up automatically?

My grub.conf is:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hdb
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Red Hat Enterprise Linux Client (2.6.18-164.el5)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-164.el5 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet crashkernel=128M@16M
initrd /initrd-2.6.18-164.el5.img

TIA,
Matt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st May 2010, 14:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Maybe you have to change the jumper settings of your hard drive so that it becomes the master drive.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2010, 14:56
matt_thumper matt_thumper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default resolved

changed 'root (hd0,0)' in grub.conf to 'root (hd1,0)'
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to matt_thumper For This Useful Post:
falko (7th May 2010)
  #4  
Old 11th May 2010, 10:17
Loisal Loisal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok. I see that somehow the slave drive got configured as the boot drive, and probably the grub boot loader got installed there by mistake, resulting in your need to tell the system to boot from the slave. You should be able to rewrite the grub boot loader to the master drive (/dev/hda) so that it will vector properly to the /dev/hdb1 partition to boot the system. You should be able to use the grub-install tool to do that. Unfortunately I have never needed to do this, so caveat user! Make sure you backup everything first!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courier POP3 HiJacker Installation/Configuration 14 17th November 2009 13:29
Raid 1 on centos won't boot with 1 drive removed treeman Server Operation 2 21st August 2009 04:59
Ispconfig web adding mailbox problem and postfix not send and recieve Stown Installation/Configuration 3 21st June 2009 12:53
smtp is error!!! fhawk Installation/Configuration 2 7th April 2009 13:17
Software RAID 1, if one drive fails I can't boot just from the other! oskare100 Server Operation 1 23rd September 2007 08:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.