Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Plugins/Modules/Addons

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 1st May 2010, 11:57
nokia80 nokia80 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to nokia80
Default

hello all

I suddenly get a strange error what can I do about it?

/ Bin / tar: / adm: Can not stat: No such file or directory
/ Bin / tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors


best regards michael nokia80
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 1st May 2010, 12:05
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokia80 View Post
hello all

I suddenly get a strange error what can I do about it?

/ Bin / tar: / adm: Can not stat: No such file or directory
/ Bin / tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors


best regards michael nokia80
You've not mentioned what distro you are using. If you use debian, like me, it does not have the directory /adm. Remove that from back-res user variables.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 1st May 2010, 12:20
nokia80 nokia80 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to nokia80
Default

hello

thanks for the reply yes it's debian that error is gone now but now have this error
cat: / Is a directory etc/ns1 .****:**


best regards michael
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 1st May 2010, 12:55
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

how are you calling the script?

edit the /etc/crontab

and add the line:
Code:
40 3 * * * /etc/back-res 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null
This will call the script at 40 minutes past three each day and will send any error messages to the bit bin.

Check to see if your script is in fact making the back up tars in your designated directory regardless of the errors it's giving. I understand some errors aren't critical.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 1st May 2010, 13:30
nokia80 nokia80 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to nokia80
Default

hi toucan

i cal the script like this ./back-res




michael
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 1st May 2010, 14:15
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokia80 View Post
hi toucan

i cal the script like this ./back-res




michael
Check to see if the script is in fact making the tars.

If it is call it from you crontab using a line like this:

Code:
40 3 * * * /etc/back-res 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null
Quote:
1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null
This part of the line sends any output (such as error messages) to the 'bit bin'. That way you won't see them. As long as it does it's job then all is good.

I'm no expert on this, I can only quote from what works for me from advice from others so feel free to step in and comment anyone who knows better.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 4th May 2010, 14:24
nokia80 nokia80 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to nokia80
Default

hi all

I have this code in 40 3 * * * / etc / backup-res 1> / dev / null 2> / dev / null cronetab done.

but nothing happens am I doing something wrong or he must be a single line

he sits or in the proper file my server is running debian.


best regards michael
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 5th May 2010, 00:31
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokia80 View Post
hi all

I have this code in 40 3 * * * / etc / backup-res 1> / dev / null 2> / dev / null cronetab done.

but nothing happens am I doing something wrong or he must be a single line

he sits or in the proper file my server is running debian.


best regards michael
if you have vim as an editor:
Code:
vi /etc/crontab
add the line:
Code:
40 3 * * * /etc/back-res 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null
You had spaces in yours and i don't know if that was intentional. Copy and paste the above line.

Make sure that script 'back-res' is in the file :

Code:
/etc
and is called 'back-res'
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 9th May 2010, 10:45
dipeshmehta dipeshmehta is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rajkot, India
Posts: 173
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to dipeshmehta Send a message via Skype™ to dipeshmehta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by go0ogl3 View Post
I've managed to improve this script a little, so here is a new version.
Sorry go0ogl3, after your making available the improved script, I couldn't get enough time to check it. Today, I checked and as expected it works like a charm. Thanks for the great work done.

Moreover, I came to know one point that the error
Code:
line 238(or 273): [: -gt: unary operator expected
might be due to wrong information store in
Code:
COMPUTER=`cat /etc/HOSTNAME | awk 'NR==1{print $1}'`
variable. As I have been using ubuntu, my hostname store in /etc/hostname (not /etc/HOSTNAME). If $COMPUTER variable has wrong data or empty, then $BACKUPDIR will point wrong, recursively pfs=`df -h $BACKUPDIR | awk 'NR==2{print $5}' | cut -d% -f 1` shall also have wrong data, giving error on line 238 (or 273).

Those who get such error, check COMPUTER=`cat /etc/HOSTNAME | awk 'NR==1{print $1}'` line and alter according to your distro.

Thanks once again go0ogl3, this is exactly what I wanted for backup solution.

Dipesh
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 9th May 2010, 18:20
go0ogl3 go0ogl3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 73
Thanks: 5
Thanked 39 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokia80 View Post
hello all

I suddenly get a strange error what can I do about it?

/ Bin / tar: / adm: Can not stat: No such file or directory
/ Bin / tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors


best regards michael nokia80
This error may be because you don't have the /adm directory. Please check the "DIRECTORIES" variable (directories to backup) in the begining of the script.

Thank you all!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 16:54
how to restore Ispconfig from backup db na0lb Installation/Configuration 4 24th September 2008 08:51
Restore backup ISPConfig leeeonardo General 4 18th April 2007 20:21
Restore ispconfig complete backup statiic General 1 15th January 2007 10:32
Backup restore on ispconfig misterm Installation/Configuration 0 18th December 2005 23:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.