Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th April 2010, 02:50
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problems on Lenny install with MySql

I am using falko's The Perfect Server - Debian Lenny (Debian 5.0) [ISPConfig 3], which I get it is perfect. But some how I have melted it up and hope that someone can help me. I have tried this 3 times, researched google but have not found anything to help. At this point I'm going insane - just trying the same actions expecting different results.

I trace the problem back step 9 on the MySQL install/set up. I am using a Linksys router and set the static IP to 192.168.1.80. Server is named beta.ar3inc.com. I plan to only use this box on my internal network.

I modify /etc/mysql/my.cnf
Code:
...
skip-external-locking
#
# Instead of skip-networking the default is now to listen only on
# localhost which is more compatible and is not less secure.
#bind-address		= 127.0.0.1
#
# * Fine Tuning
...
and I keep getting;
Code:
beta:~# /etc/init.d/mysql restart
Stopping MySQL database server: mysqld.
Starting MySQL database server: mysqld.
Checking for corrupt, not cleanly closed and upgrade needing tables..
beta:~# netstat -tap | grep mysql
tcp        0      0 *:mysql                 *:*                     LISTEN      2572/mysqld
If I retry the 2 above commands again the LISTEN value will keep increasing until I reboot. What am I doing wrong or leaving out? Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th April 2010, 08:53
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

I'm not sure I understand the problem. What do you mean by the 'LISTEN value'.

The number following the word 'LISTEN' is the PID. As far as I know, every time you stop and start a service it's going to be assigned a new PID. So the value should change every time.

According to your netstat output , mysql is running okay.

What problem are you actually experiencing? What doesn't work?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th April 2010, 19:11
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, &*^%!!! Please forgive my ignorance and allow my clarify. So in...
Code:
LISTEN      2572/mysqld
2572 is the PID and can be whatever number. Correct?
The actual problem I ran into was towards the end on the actual ispconfig install. I had other problem with the MySql connecting so I assumed the root was this step. I have already restarted install and halted at the point in question. I guess I will just resume everything and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th April 2010, 20:09
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar3inc View Post
I guess I will just resume everything and let you know.
So how is it going??

Earlier this month I went through about 10 cycles of reformating the hard disk, installing Centos5.4 and runnning the Perfect server guide, but each time making adjustments until I was entirely happy with the result. I've gained a lot of experience that I'm more than happy to share with others!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th April 2010, 21:02
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, Mike!!

That is exactly why I am doing this wanting to gain that experience.

I'm running into problems in step 12. After I modify inetd.conf. After trying to change the perms, I get "chmod: cannot access `/qouta.*': No such file or directory."

Before I embarrass myself more, I am going to just throw it out. I understand what the file is doing but have no clue what it means. I just copied and pasted the guide. Am I suppose to personalize the values based on my machine? I am sure I am. Where can I find more info about the meaning and roles of the file?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th April 2010, 22:05
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar3inc View Post
...After trying to change the perms, I get "chmod: cannot access `/qouta.*': No such file or directory."
If that is exactly the response you get it's probably because of a typo: "qouta" instead of "quota"
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mike_p For This Useful Post:
ar3inc (27th April 2010)
  #7  
Old 27th April 2010, 01:22
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh-kay now i feel really stupid. thanks thou.

Is this a normal/good response to the "quotacheck -avugm" command?
Code:
quotacheck: Your kernel probably supports journaled quota but you are not using it. Consider switching to journaled quota to avoid running quotacheck after an unclean shutdown.
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.user was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.group was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hda1 [/] done
quotacheck: Checked 3276 directories and 33437 files
Saddly I typo'd the word like three times in the install too, but I caught those myself.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th April 2010, 10:08
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it installed!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th April 2010, 10:28
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar3inc View Post
I got it installed!!!
Congratulations on the birth of your new control panel!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th April 2010, 21:04
ar3inc ar3inc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Just I furture reference to others out there that might hit the same stopping point as me...
I was able to get through everything up to the ISPConfig install (not paying close attention to the results on each command) and then I received errors.

On step 13 the installation of MyDNS. I had to create the config file for it. I tried the "make conf" command the program suggested but for whatever reason that failed with an error about no rule. So i copied the conf file from the article Running A MySQL-Based DNS Server: MyDNS and bamm it worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debian Lenny - VMWare Install & Network Issues jbimmerle Installation/Configuration 1 8th September 2009 04:06
Newbie install problems - please help spikes Installation/Configuration 2 1st September 2009 07:20
can't help ispconfig to install please help steve51184 Installation/Configuration 17 20th February 2009 10:37
unable connect urL hostname mysql install ISPC tom1gozzi Installation/Configuration 4 9th June 2006 12:47
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.