#1  
Old 27th January 2010, 13:57
cf_ip cf_ip is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default BAR 15 - nvidia error

Hi all,

Incase this helps anyone, but when I was inserting 4GB of memory into my laptop it had a issue with the ACER BIOS when it was telling the onboard nvidia graphics card to use a memory location that was fine with 2GB but with 4GB, that was where the system memory was and I was getting

BAR 15: address space collision on of bridge
BAR 1: no parent found for of device

errors, which it did come down to the nvidia memory request had to be moved to another place, and also to block any requests to that place for other devices (they was able to reassign to a smaller block of memory some where else).

I just had to edit the /usr/src/linux/arch/x86/pci/i386.c file and place
if ((r->start >= 0xc0000000) && (r->end <= 0xcfffffff)) {
dev_info(&dev->dev,
" not allocating resource 0xc - 0xcf %pR\n",
r);
/*
stop any resources gaining the 0xc0000000 - 0xcfffffff
region, the linux kernel will re-place them.
*/
r->flags = 0;
}

/* where the nvidia is going and replace in the above region */
if ((r->start == 0xb0000000) && (r->end == 0xbfffffff)) {
r->start = 0xc0000000;
r->end = 0xcfffffff;
}

just after the

r = &dev->resource[idx];

in the

static void __init pcibios_allocate_bus_resources(struct list_head *bus_list)

function..

Thought that I would post here, just encase it helps anyone else really.

Ian


More information here..

http://www.codingfriends.com/index.p...does-not-work/
__________________
-----------------
Coding Friends
-----------------
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cf_ip For This Useful Post:
falko (27th January 2010)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2010, 06:17
katinherwoods katinherwoods is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In your system expanded memory available only 2 GB and you are using for 4 GB at that time tour processor not support it.I am suggesting you once check user manual of your system,and scan your system with anti-virus software might be possible due to virus this type of error occurs .
__________________
viral ad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2010, 11:09
cf_ip cf_ip is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
In your system expanded memory available only 2 GB and you are using for 4 GB at that time tour processor not support it.I am suggesting you once check user manual of your system,and scan your system with anti-virus software might be possible due to virus this type of error occurs .
since with a kernel code update to correct the ACER BIOS problems, I am now able to view the 4GB of memory, so really do not think it is due to a virus problem, and also referencing the manual the manual says that the laptop can support 4GB of memory.

HTH.
__________________
-----------------
Coding Friends
-----------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
acer, bios, nvidia

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mod_layout and php gd branov Installation/Configuration 8 2nd September 2009 16:51
LB1 Not Taking Over Shared IP Using Heartbeat 2.1.3 On FC10 64Bit asyadiqin Installation/Configuration 5 11th February 2009 21:11
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 04:38
Installation Fails... :( cyberstorm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 19:07
Install stop at uuwish, UUDeview SeaWolf Installation/Configuration 6 5th October 2005 00:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.