Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th April 2010, 08:56
lifeisboost lifeisboost is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default first website questions

OKay, once i create the website, do i have to then click on the DNS tab and manually add the zones for all of the sites and co domains?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th April 2010, 10:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Are you talking about ispconfig 2 or 3? ISPConfig 3 has no co-domains.

Regarding dns. If you run just a few domains, then the easiest way is to use the dns server of the company where you registered the domains and not the dns server on your system.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th April 2010, 15:28
lifeisboost lifeisboost is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Are you talking about ispconfig 2 or 3? ISPConfig 3 has no co-domains.

Regarding dns. If you run just a few domains, then the easiest way is to use the dns server of the company where you registered the domains and not the dns server on your system.
it is ispconfig3 this server has over 100 domains, i found where you add the extra domains as alias. but still unsure about the dns zones.

Last edited by lifeisboost; 7th April 2010 at 15:33.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th April 2010, 13:44
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
 
Default

I think what till is saying is, if you're adding a couple of extra domains then it is best to add the dns records via the registrar and using their name servers but pointing to your web server.

If you have lots of extra domains to add, update the name servers at the registrar with your name servers, then add the dns records in your own ipscpnfig3 dns server. Then add the alias domains, with their flags and destination URL in the 'sites' area of ispconfig3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many config questions S3NTYN3L Installation/Configuration 9 16th March 2009 14:41
cannot receive emails after made website online llamy General 20 27th December 2007 02:14
set up 301 redirect from old website to new website showe1966 Server Operation 1 22nd September 2007 13:30
Many "is this possible?" questions... ClarkVent General 2 6th June 2007 16:35
Where to go next? DNS questions? Default Website? NetDreamz Installation/Configuration 1 29th October 2005 12:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.