Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 19th March 2010, 18:58
jmhoms jmhoms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, thank you for all the clarifications, now i have a perfect idea of how it works and i'm ready to test and deploy.

Congratulations and best whishes to the project.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 3rd April 2010, 07:54
esmiz esmiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 44
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Multiserver mirror system. Is this a valid way?

Hello

First of all, I want to thank jmhoms & till, for such an interesting post.
It's being a great help to understand the multiserver behaviour.

I've being testing 3.02, and just set up a couple of servers: one master, and one slave that mirrors it. I'm using 2 failover ips on the master to hold the domains, websites and mail accounts.
So, I just have to duplicate website contents and databases in the slave, keep them synced, and I can survive a server crash. Well, this is ok, but this way slave does nothing, is just master the one is working, isn't it?

As I was not 100% happy, I forwarded one of the failover ips to the slave server to see if it could handle some work, and this is what happened:

1- In the slave, apache just showed one of the websites of its new ip, but I got it fixed after adding a new vhost by hand with some NameVirtualHost directives.

2- Emails sent to the slave got bounced. This was harder to beat, but after much messing around I saw how..., editing all mysql files in the /etc/postfix folder, and changing server_id = 2, with server_id = 1, solved it.

Apart from these 2 already solved problems, all the rest of the services dns, mysql, ftp, were working without hassle, so this looked like a better solution than having the master doing all the job.

This is the first multiserver I've ever built, and to be honest I was convinced that it was going to fail at any time. I would not be surprised if anything breaks or was already broken. Keep on testing I found out that I can put back the ip failover in the master, or even put both failovers in the slave and everything still works beautifully.

This exactly behaviour is what I've been up to for some time, it cover all my needs, and I'd like to use it as it is, if someone with enough knowledge confirm is harmless.
I don't know how safe or reliable this setup can be, being used in this way, so any answer or comment will be much appreciated.

Regards
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to esmiz For This Useful Post:
bajodel (4th April 2010)
  #43  
Old 4th April 2010, 07:57
bajodel bajodel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 63
Thanks: 26
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

..this entire post is extremely intresting..

Soon as possible i'll try to test multi-server features.. and i'm really intrested in a "esmiz scenario" ..it would be extremely usefull to have also the CP on the 'mirror/slave' in order to (eventually) manually promote the mirror to be the master (in emergency).

bye..

bajodel
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 4th April 2010, 09:52
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,213 Times in 4,088 Posts
 
Default

You can not have a controlpanel interface on the slave, it will destroy the data integrity of the replication. Additionally the slave has not all the data that is needed to run the master, so if you would login to to a controlpanel on the slave, there will be no clients and resellers available.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 4th April 2010 at 09:58.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiserver Prolem / Salve doesnt get updated (jobqeue) MM- Installation/Configuration 5 17th July 2009 11:42
Multiserver Master/Slave setup? warlock Installation/Configuration 1 15th July 2009 08:44
Multiserver setup design documentation agoston Developers' Forum 4 4th June 2009 13:53
Apache - multiserver wieserdk Installation/Configuration 4 17th May 2009 10:51
Does ISPConfig Support Multiserver asyadiqin Installation/Configuration 5 13th September 2006 08:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.