Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th March 2010, 21:40
kerrsmith kerrsmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default Change from MyDNS to Bind

I am just wondering if there is a way to go from using myDNS to Bind?

I have just upgraded to the latest version and see that Bind can now be used and was thinking about trying to change.

It is more of an experiment really, myDNS works perfectly well but I just thought I might have a go on my test server.

Last edited by kerrsmith; 13th March 2010 at 14:37.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th March 2010, 10:06
kerrsmith kerrsmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Is it a matter of just deleting myDNS, installing Bind using apt and then running the upgrade script again or is it not really possible unless you are starting from a clean install?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th March 2010, 14:36
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

The bind setup is based on config files and not on a mysql database, this makes switching to bind a bit more complicated. If you want to switch form mydns to bind, you have to uninstall mydns, then install bind, then run the ispconfig update.php and select to reconfigure services. Then go to the ispconfig server settings and check that the path for the named.conf file and the directory for the bind config files is correct. Afterwards you will have to edit every dns record (zone) in ispconfig, change a value like the ttl and click on save, so that the bind files get written for this record.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 18th March 2010 at 14:50. Reason: edited typos
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
djbill (13th February 2013), kerrsmith (15th March 2010)
  #4  
Old 16th March 2010, 20:53
kerrsmith kerrsmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Thanks for the information, I did the following and it appears to have worked as expected:

Deleted myDNS from the server and removed from startup directories
Restarted server
Installed Bind9
Downloaded ISPConfig and ran update.php
Logged in to control panel and checked DNS settings under the Server Config menu, they were all correct
Edited DNS record to trigger an update
Manually checked the bind directory and the new DNS file was created

It looks as if everything worked and the new Bind DNS server is responding to requests for the domain names it hosts.

Thanks again for the help.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kerrsmith For This Useful Post:
baskin (22nd September 2010), falko (17th March 2010), Hans (17th August 2010)
  #5  
Old 21st March 2010, 18:53
admins admins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 210
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

And how do you do the dns replication with bind?
I run with mydns the dns replicationscript wich franz has written.
May bind isn't based on mysql.

Could you write a howto, with the path where i must delete the mydns files and startup entries?

Thanks
admins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st March 2010, 19:27
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Why do you want to switch to bind with your current setup? The functions that yu have now ith mydns are the same then with bind.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st March 2010, 13:59
kerrsmith kerrsmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

The only reason I wanted to switch was just as an experiment to see how I could do it.

Mydns works perfectly for me but I have a test server that I use to play about with as I find it a great way to learn how things work, if it all goes wrong I can just blank it and start again from scratch.

To remove mydns I just did a search on the hard drive for files called mydns and deleted them then went in to the rc[0 1 2 ...].d directories and removed the mydns files (this prevents mydns from starting on boot). I then restarted and installed bind9 and then edited all my dns zones as recommend by Till.

After this bind9 had all the required data in its zone files and was working as expected.

Last edited by kerrsmith; 31st March 2010 at 14:08.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st March 2010, 17:19
lucani lucani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I have a question: You downloaded MyDNS tar.gz package ( 1.2.8.27 2009-03-26 ) or maybe files from SVN? I noticed that although tar.gz package was released more than year ago, there was changes in SVN (e.g. http://mydns-ng.svn.sourceforge.net/...v&revision=217 and before). One of rev should fix problem with axfr (from description). So tell me if you used SVN and this is the reason why it works for you but not for me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th September 2010, 17:59
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Which update.php we have to run and how?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th September 2010, 06:19
artmanseattle artmanseattle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

When you download ISPConfig3 again (since it is no longer in your /tmp directory) and look in the 'install' directory, you will find update.php as well as all the other scripts for manipulating your ISPConfig3 installation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 12:30
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
MyDNS (Master) -> Bind (Slave) Support todgerme General 4 4th September 2007 14:45
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 12:40
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.