Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2010, 17:29
alyoshenka alyoshenka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xen Windows Config Problems Disk Line

So recently I decided that it would be good to throw some test runs of Windows in Xen 3.2. So I am using kernel 2.6.24-19-xen on Ubuntu Sever 8.04 64-bit I believe. I wanted it to run on a logical volume within a lvm. So I created that. which looks like:

Code:
 --- Logical volume ---
  LV Name                /dev/raid6_vg/w2k3-term-02
  VG Name                raid6_vg
  LV UUID                1BYK9b-5ZQw-nYnG-JBLA-GutJ-YBCR-xxxx
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Status              available
  # open                 0
  LV Size                29.30 GB
  Current LE             7500
  Segments               1
  Allocation             inherit
  Read ahead sectors     0
  Block device           254:1
I created network bridges for my nics which are ethx and those seem to be working as well. So next I went to get a windows hvm config which looks like:

Code:
import os, re
arch = os.uname()[4]
if re.search('64', arch):
    arch_libdir = 'lib64'
else:
    arch_libdir = 'lib'

kernel = "/usr/lib/xen/boot/hvmloader"

builder='hvm'

memory = 1024
shadow_memory = 8
name = "exmp"
vif = [ 'type=ioemu, bridge=eth1' ]
disk = [ ‘phy:/dev/raid6_vg/w2k3_term_02,hda,w’, 'file:/home/exmp/images/windows2003srv.iso,hdc:cdrom,r' ]
device_model = ‘/usr/’ + arch_libdir + ‘/xen/bin/qemu-dm’
boot=”dc”
sdl=0
vnc=1
vncviewer=0
ne2000=0
usbdevice=’tablet’
Now no matter where I put the disk line it finds it and tells me there's a problem with it. I've checked everything I've renamed the lv group I've taken out the comments on the windows config. It doesn't matter no matter what it tells me it doesn't like it (Error on line). So I'm at a loss.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd March 2010, 16:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's the exact error message?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd March 2010, 17:43
alyoshenka alyoshenka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure. The error message is the following:

Error: Errors were found at line 16 while processing /etc/xen/w2k3.cfg:
None
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd March 2010, 14:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I guess your quotation marks are wrong. Instead of
Code:
disk = [ phy:/dev/raid6_vg/w2k3_term_02,hda,w, 'file:/home/exmp/images/windows2003srv.iso,hdc:cdrom,r' ]
it should look as follows:
Code:
disk = [ 'phy:/dev/raid6_vg/w2k3_term_02,hda,w', 'file:/home/exmp/images/windows2003srv.iso,hdc:cdrom,r' ]
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd March 2010, 18:52
alyoshenka alyoshenka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

*facepalm

Wow it's an ID10T error. Wow I can't believe I missed that. Man... thank you I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
xen windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
perfect install but no ISPconfig provell Installation/Configuration 52 29th June 2009 22:33
user login problem after creation marcob Installation/Configuration 22 22nd May 2009 11:44
Bugs in the code of the ISPConfig software vaio1 Installation/Configuration 15 20th May 2008 10:32
reoback problems on debian 3.1 Ovidiu Server Operation 12 15th May 2007 22:25
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.