Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th February 2010, 23:38
GenePoole GenePoole is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How To Set Up Software RAID 1 On A Running LVM System (Incl. GRUB Configuration)

I'm following your instructions and attempting to modify them to my environment.

My concern is that I didn't use the default partitioning during my install, I've got a partition (PV) for each of the major functions running on this machine (i.e. vg_opsys; vg_oracle; vg_websoft; etc.) for a total of 8 partitions on this 1 TB SATA drive.

I'm curious as to what should be done with partition 4 which is my type 5 (extended) partition type. Should I just ignore it when I'm changing the types on /dev/sdb to fd?

Also, there is at least 250 GB of free space on /dev/sda. How does that get converted to RAID 1? Or does it? And if it doesn't, should I just start all over and use hardware raid?

TIA
Gene
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th February 2010, 13:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,713 Times in 2,556 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
I'm curious as to what should be done with partition 4 which is my type 5 (extended) partition type. Should I just ignore it when I'm changing the types on /dev/sdb to fd?
Yes, ignore it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
Also, there is at least 250 GB of free space on /dev/sda. How does that get converted to RAID 1? Or does it? And if it doesn't, should I just start all over and use hardware raid?

TIA
Gene
You could add that space to an existing logical volume. Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_lvm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
GenePoole (18th May 2010)
  #3  
Old 18th May 2010, 17:09
GenePoole GenePoole is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Question How To Set Up Software RAID 1 On A Running LVM System (Incl. GRUB COnfiguration)

It's been since February since you reply reached me. It appears that I've run into a bad batch of 1 TB hard disks. That's been solved so I can proceed.

I'm at the 'pvmove' step and this process take a very long time. What are the implications of establishing several sessions and doing multiple 'pvmove' processes at the same time? The 'mdadm --add' step concerns me because there have been some electrical issues in the area and my battery backup unit will only give me ~60-minutes. Your opinion?

Gene
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proftpd + MySQL virtual users, can't connect geekman HOWTO-Related Questions 28 27th September 2010 18:03
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 16:26
debian, lvm, raid, grub, custom kernel koi Installation/Configuration 4 3rd November 2007 10:39
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.