Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th January 2010, 19:49
HobsonDrake HobsonDrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default quotacheck error message

I am following the howto for Fedora server. After following the steps for quota I run the
quotacheck -avugm and get these errors.

quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //aquota.user was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //aquota.group was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/mapper/vg_doghouse-lv_root [/] quotacheck: lstat Cannot stat `//home/John/.gvfs': Permission denied
Guess you'd better run fsck first !
exiting...

I have rechecked the fstab and recreated the /aquota.user and /aquota.group.

I also did and ls -al on the //home/John/.gvfs and it has a permissions of
d????????? ? ? ? ? .gvfs

Any ideas what is going on?
Thanks, John
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th January 2010, 21:29
HobsonDrake HobsonDrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK some more info and questions on this.
I followed the Howto for Fedora 12. I was looking at the Howto for Fedora 11 and there are some differences.
In the fstab for 12 it says to add after defaults ,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfm t=vfsv0
and in 11 it says to add ,usrquota,grpquota

Let me add that my system is not 64bit

and here is my fstab just in case some one needs to see it

# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Tue Jan 26 12:13:28 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/mapper/vg_doghouse-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.gr oup,jqfmt=vfsv0 1 1
UUID=de1b8e93-1d57-42af-a39a-ee5a200a869f /boot ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/vg_doghouse-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st January 2010, 17:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

The Fedora 12 tutorial uses journaled quota - does it work with that?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2010, 23:46
HobsonDrake HobsonDrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

falko, I am unfamiliar with quota. So I don't know the difference between that and journaled quota. What would the request be? Can you tell me what to look for please. I will look it up with #man.
Thanks.
John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st February 2010, 13:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Which instructions gave you the error? The instructions from the Fedora 12 or the Fedora 11 tutorial?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st February 2010, 15:22
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

@Falko,
Also on Debian Lenny, now a message occurs, which suggests to use journaled quota instead.
I ignored it during installation, but i want you to know.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd February 2010, 03:01
HobsonDrake HobsonDrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The instruction was
quotacheck -avugm

Taken from page 3 of
The Perfect Server - Fedora 12 x86_64 [ISPConfig 2]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd February 2010, 03:19
melask melask is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok.

First of all Hi,

I saw ur issue here...and registered only to reply you xexe

I am using Ubuntu 9.10 and i had exactly tha same problem. So a possible solution is: to run the commands through a tty window and not through kde or gnome's terminal console window.

Just log off from your graphical environment and switch to e.g. tty1 window with the ctrl+alt+F1 keys. Run all the commands there (after u login ofc) and u are ok.

Switch back to kde/gnome with ctrl+alt+F7

Hope, I helped ya.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd February 2010, 15:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobsonDrake View Post
The instruction was
quotacheck -avugm

Taken from page 3 of
The Perfect Server - Fedora 12 x86_64 [ISPConfig 2]
Ok, can you try the instructions from the Fedora 11 tutorial? Do these work?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd February 2010, 15:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans View Post
@Falko,
Also on Debian Lenny, now a message occurs, which suggests to use journaled quota instead.
I ignored it during installation, but i want you to know.
Hi Hans,

yes, I know, but these are just warnings. If you want to set up journaled quota, take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-set...n-debian-lenny
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Hans (2nd February 2010)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quotacheck many many errors-hangs program Al1937 Installation/Configuration 6 7th July 2009 20:57
quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check xetic Installation/Configuration 22 11th May 2009 12:38
Perfect Server: Debian 5.0 ISPConfig2 Quotacheck Error sighkick HOWTO-Related Questions 3 27th February 2009 14:29
quotacheck -avugm problem turbolad General 2 12th November 2008 14:17
Quotacheck on Debian Sarge Install m u r Installation/Configuration 6 31st October 2005 08:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.