Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 24th December 2009, 19:20
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

I thought the name servers are valid. My dns shows a record for ns1.badbison.co.uk pointing to my public ip address which the router points all ports to the same ports on the lan ip of the server.

As the second name server I've used ns10.schlundtech.de as that is used in the howto. To get the ip address of this server I used the dig command which returned in the answer section 62.116.163.100. I have put this address in the ip address to export zone records section of my dns records.

That sort of refers back to my earlier question of how does ns10.schlundtech.de know it has to act as my secondary name server and go get the records.

I can't display the contents of resolv.conf as I'm on a mobile device right now and the result get lost out of the screen, although you're welcome to ssh it yourself, though I appreciate you can't help that personally to everyone.

The fault does seem intermittent. On my local network I can view web pages held fine. It also works from my phone fine using the telephone connection. It worked fine from work yesterday, but today it does not. The template sites I've put up are badbison.com and prizepalace.co.uk if you'd like to view.

There is something playing on my mind though, I have a faint memory of Reading somewhere not to use the same domain name as your LAN is. My router does have the same LAN domain as my name servers domain - badbison.co.uk. Have I imagined this or should I change the routers domain setting?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 25th December 2009, 15:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Maybe the nameservers in your resolv.conf are not allowed to do recursive lookups.
Can you try
Code:
nameserver 145.253.2.75
as the first line in /etc/resolv.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th December 2009, 19:58
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

ok, back on a terminal today... the resolve.conf file looks like this:

Code:
domain badbison.co.uk
search badbison.co.uk
nameserver 87.194.255.154
nameserver 87.194.255.155
nameserver 192.168.0.1
which I've now adjusted to look like this:
Code:
nameserver 145.253.2.75
domain badbison.co.uk
search badbison.co.uk
nameserver 87.194.255.154
nameserver 87.194.255.155
nameserver 192.168.0.1
I'm not sure where it's got those names servers from though, the router is the 0.1 and I have a feeling the .154 and .155 are the names servers that the router dishes out when leasing dhcp. However, the server that this is running on is on a static IP if 0.100 as per the lenny perfect tutorial.

I've just rebooted it. Should I remove the other lines or anything?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th December 2009, 11:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Looks good. Do you still get so many Name or service not known errors in your mail log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th December 2009, 12:47
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

There's no mail error logs but there are mail warnings as below
Code:
Dec 25 22:53:26 badbuntu postfix/smtpd[7303]: warning: 190.245.168.244: hostname 244-168-245-190.fibertel.com.ar verification failed: Name or service not known
Dec 25 23:59:57 badbuntu postfix/smtpd[25627]: warning: 89.42.187.16: address not listed for hostname 16-187-42-89-cable.canals.ro
Dec 26 00:54:41 badbuntu postfix/smtpd[26425]: warning: 123.19.24.244: address not listed for hostname localhost
Dec 26 03:54:12 badbuntu postfix/smtpd[29026]: warning: 98.145.80.232: hostname cpe-98-145-80-232.natnow.res.rr.com verification failed: Name or service not known
Dec 26 08:18:54 badbuntu postfix/smtpd[14102]: warning: 113.170.214.251: address not listed for hostname localhost.
it's odd, when I send an email from another address i get a rejection reply straight away, although often the email does come through but not for about an hour later. A sample mail box is my name@badbison.com my name is David!

Should I delete those other name servers from resolv.conf. ? Also my file doesn't end with the question mark like the one you mentioned. I presume this doesn't matter?

Thanks for all your help With this by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 27th December 2009, 15:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
Should I delete those other name servers from resolv.conf. ?
I'd leave them where they are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
Also my file doesn't end with the question mark like the one you mentioned. I presume this doesn't matter?
What question mark?

I guess that you still get these Name or service not known warnings simply means that the hostnames really do not exist.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28th December 2009, 02:04
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Leave even the one that relates to the router ip? I'll trust you on that.

What does the resolv.conf file actually do?
Ref the ? , a question mark was included a couple of times at the end of resolv.conf. Just wanted to make sure I was editting the right file.

Still not having much luck with those emails. If I send on from an mailbox on the same server it gets through fine, if it comes from other servers outside the domain then we run into problems. Please see the return message below. I'd love to get this working properly.
Code:
.This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

*any@badbison.com
***retry timeout exceeded

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <admin@gohosti.com>
Received: from [82.132.139.201] (helo=[10.28.192.186])
* *by bluestar5.ukhost4u.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69)
* *(envelope-from <admin@gohosti.com>)
* *id 1NP0se-0003z8-Hj
* *for any@badbison.com; Sun, 27 Dec 2009 21:42:29 +0000
Message-Id: <546A8012-0C21-409E-9F94-22A6BB080560@gohosti.com>
From: "admin@gohosti.com" <admin@gohosti.com>
To: any@badbison.com
Content-Type: text/plain;
* *charset=us-ascii;
* *format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Mailer: iPhone Mail (7D11)
Mime-Version: 1.0 (iPhone Mail 7D11)
Date: Sun, 27 Dec 2009 21:42:33 +0000

Hhhh
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th December 2009, 15:01
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

I tried from a different computer on a different network today to access my two test sites. One, prizepalace.co.uk came up first time. The other, badbison.com failed the first two times quoting dns error, unable to find host.. clicked retry a third time and it came up no problems and has done ever since.

Email is still behaving very odd.. someone sent me an email from a yahoo email account last night. It never arrived and returned the following message to the sender:
Quote:
Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address.

<david@badbison.com>:
No MX or A records for badbison.com

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Received: from [217.146.182.177] by n24.bullet.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 27 Dec 2009 16:55:35 -0000
Received: from [87.248.110.115] by t3.bullet.ukl.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 27 Dec 2009 16:55:28 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp220.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 27 Dec 2009 16:55:28 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 187199.84718.bm@omp220.mail.ukl.yahoo.com
Received: (qmail 49859 invoked by uid 60001); 27 Dec 2009 16:55:28 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256
and some more...

However, this morning someone sent me an email from a yahoo account and it came through fine with no reported errors.

I get the feeling one of the name servers are not working properly and it's purely chance which name server is used for the look up. Is there anyway to tell which is working properly? According to ISP config3 I have MX and A records setup for the account.

It looks like this:
Quote:
A badbison.com. 93.97.188.1 0
A mail 93.97.188.1 0
A www 93.97.188.1 0
MX badbison.com. mail.badbison.com. 10
NS badbison.com. ns1.badbison.co.uk. 0
NS badbison.com. ns10.schlundtech.de. 0
Is there a way I could test to see if my name server gives out the correct details and then a way to test to see if NS10.schlundtech.de holds the correct details?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th December 2009, 17:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You can test your DNS records for badbison.com on www.intodns.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30th December 2009, 21:01
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
 
Unhappy

That site did prove useful.

I wasn't sure if my previous slave name server was doing it's job so I've used one supplied by zoneedit which does seem to be picking up the records from the primary. The serials are currently out of sync but I think that'll cure in time.

I seem to have a problem with glue records. The results are as below
Quote:
NS records got from your nameservers listed at the parent NS are:

ns1.badbison.co.uk *[] (NO GLUE) * [TTL=86400]
ns2.zoneedit.com *['69.72.158.226'] * [TTL=86400]
ns2.zoneedit.com.badbison.co.uk *[] (NO GLUE) * [TTL=86400]*

Recursive Queries Good. Your nameservers (the ones reported by the parent server) do not report that they allow recursive queries for anyone.
Same Glue Looks like the A records (the GLUE) got from the parent zone check are different than the ones got from your nameservers. You have to make sure your parent server has the same NS records for your zone as you do.I detected some problems as follows:
For ns2.zoneedit.com the parent reported: ['69.72.158.226'] and your nameservers reported: ['69.72.158.226']

INFO: GLUE was not sent when I asked your nameservers for your NS records.This is ok but you should know that in this case an extra A record lookup is required in order to get the IPs of your NS records. The nameservers without glue are:
93.97.188.1
69.72.158.226
You can fix this for example by adding A records to your nameservers for the zones listed above.

FAIL: The following nameservers are listed at your nameservers as nameservers for your domain, but are not listed at the parent nameservers (see RFC2181 5.4.1). You need to make sure that these nameservers are working.If they are not working ok, you may have problems!*
ns2.zoneedit.com.badbison.co.uk
web pages are still appearing intermittently and emails take six hours to get through from some domains.
I'd really appreciate some guidance as what to do next please.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix Stopped Working benfaust Server Operation 1 16th November 2009 23:56
ISPconfig has stopped working ilchubby General 5 21st November 2008 17:59
Postfix/STMP abruptly stopped working XMG-Eric Server Operation 12 7th November 2008 14:48
Help - virtual sites - email not working - what FQDN? sagor Installation/Configuration 4 26th April 2008 20:00
ISPConfig stopped creating users, sites... Traxus Installation/Configuration 4 9th February 2006 11:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.