Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > MyDNSConfig > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th September 2009, 09:18
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Question how to join an existing MyDNSConfig multiserver setup?

Hi

I have installed MyDNSConfig on two different server.
I have intelled both like described in Installing MyDNS-NG & MyDNSConfig 3 On Debian Lenny.

On the second server I chose expert mode and the installation now asks for credentials for the master server.

But I always get the message:
Quote:
Unable to connect to mysql server
Do I have to configure the master server differently. e.g. do I have to allow special rights for the mysql server?

Thanks!

Last edited by torusturtle; 29th September 2009 at 11:45.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th September 2009, 16:21
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Smile

Never mind!
It was a problem with the firewall.
Everything now working. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th December 2009, 06:09
jonedan jonedan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Most DNS services will let you configure a domain to be a slave. This means that they pull the zone (dns records) from a master.You can run the master server on one of your boxes, and have your DNS provider pull it to keep it in sync. The master would actually send update notifications when you make a changeTechnically, this would require you to run a DNS server, but it would not have to be a production server. It could be setup so that all of the public DNS queries only hit your DNS provider. This way you have a very simple and reliable update mechanism.

Thanks.
__________________
r4 dsi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th December 2009, 06:32
vagassi vagassi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonedan View Post
Most DNS services will let you configure a domain to be a slave. This means that they pull the zone (dns records) from a master.You can run the master server on one of your boxes, and have your DNS provider pull it to keep it in sync. The master would actually send update notifications when you make a changeTechnically, this would require you to run a DNS server, but it would not have to be a production server. It could be setup so that all of the public DNS queries only hit your DNS provider. This way you have a very simple and reliable update mechanism.

Thanks.
Thank you for your valuable information, this will help me in accessing the DNS service
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiserver setup with mysql-only server Croydon Developers' Forum 4 21st February 2011 22:04
Multiserver setup design documentation agoston Developers' Forum 4 4th June 2009 13:53
Searching Howto setup a slackwere server Lord_Mephisto Server Operation 1 11th April 2009 13:16
Howto setup SiS190 Ethernet - not working for me hugoc HOWTO-Related Questions 5 8th May 2008 21:57
Question regarding PHP setup in Ubuntu 6.06 LAMP install Howto FXT HOWTO-Related Questions 1 23rd August 2007 18:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.